hmmm…what kind of soup?

my Mom pointed out today that I have not posted in a week-sorry, folks! I just haven’t had anything “worthwhile” to say. I agree with something a good friend (and better blogger than I) stated recently “I don’t want to just list what we had for soup today”. I have waited for something funny or interesting to happen but life has been blissfully uneventful and wonderfully calm. So today, for all my hundreds (!) of faithful readers (Mom and ?) here’s a random list of the weeks events:

TUESDAY-boys and I had a sleepover with a friend and her 3 kids since her husband was away on business. We ate popcorn, watched movies and the kids even had the requisite pillow fight with much laughter all around!
I was introduced to the BBC version of “Pride and Prejudice” and Mr. Darcy makes me swoon now! What a beautiful, genteel time-ah, I was born in the
wrong century…
WEDNESDAY-John had a DVR installed, our favorite new toy-no more commercials or rushing home, worried to miss LOST or The Office…
THURSDAY-A friend and I went to a class “Landscape your Dream Garden” and found it so boring we skipped out early and had a late supper at Zenon-great food with a great friend, learned more from her sweet advice than I could’ve at the class, that’s for certain.
FRIDAY-As Head Teacher of Red Barn Academy I made an executive decison…we skipped school to go to the library and out to lunch with friends, then spent the afternoon gardening in the rare Oregon sunshine.
SATURDAY-walked 5 miles with a friend (at 7 AM!) We are in training to walk a half-marathon in April, working our way up to 13.1 miles. Then John and the kids had a “Boys Day” so I could go to my once a month 7 hour scrapbook crop. The boys reported that lunch was easy cheese on ritz, yogurt and a token baby carrot.
SUNDAY-Church was great, though we slept in and missed 1st service, where we have to be out the door by 8:30. 2nd service is the same but by the time we make the 40 minute drive home we are starving! John
stopped at my fave store, Market of Choice for milk and we ended up spending $50-they have so much, it’s dangerous to shop hungry-i ate the sushi rolls on the way home and spilled wasabi on myself.
In the evening we made popcorn and cold Ovaltine for a family movie night-Red Skelton and the 3 Stooges since Americas Funniest Videos (our usual sunday night show) was off for the Oscars.
and today, MONDAY-well school was accomplished, 5 loads of laundry, lots of Bioncicle legos built. The lilies got divided, 2 bare root roses planted and
the rabbit hutch cleaned out before the rain kicked in. Now we are inside and the boys are reading books, the cat and dog laying together in front of a roaring fire in the woodstove. I made bread pudding with the day old ciabatta rolls so the whole house smells like cinnamon, and I think we’ll have tomato soup (see, R? I had to mention the soup!)
with grilled cheese panini for supper. So, we are all alive, busy, happy and well-and give God all the praise for this perfect life!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hmmm…what kind of soup?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for the update. I too had noticed that it had been awhile since you last blogged. I think I’ve become addicted like one does with a favorite t.v. show!I enjoy hearing about your busy lives. Glad to hear that all is well! Love you guys….Sherri

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh Brenda, you make my day!I must admit that I haven’t looked for a few days after looking a couple days and nothing was new.But I know that this does take time and as we can read even uneventful days are busy. I know they are at our house too!Love, Kippi

  3. Rebeca says:

    The soup sounds great- and I love panini…. you’re making me hungry! Thanks for the kind words left on my blog. the lyrics to the song are beautiful and fitting.You are in my prayers.Blessings,Rebeca

Leave a Reply

