oh, the drama!

Caleb has had a little trouble controlling his temper the last few days. About an hour ago he found a big tootsie roll, and asked to eat it. He didn’t like the answer and started what we lovingly refer to as “Del-talk” his Grandfather on my side coming out, to negotiate a deal…
“I’ll brush my teeth EXTRA good!” No. “I’ll just eat some of it!” No. “Why not?!” No. “It’s mine, I bought it at Chuck E. Cheese with 10 tickets!”
No, and that’s final-your arguing is only going to bring you discipline so you need to stop NOW.
This brought out Caleb’s fury and a dramatic throwing of the tootsie roll across the room. I calmly picked up the tootsie roll and put it in the garbage can, explaining he had lost the privilege of ownership by not controlling his temper again. He is sent to his room to think and pray and the homeschool lessons of expressing yourself through writing come to the surface, I suppose, for he comes out a few minutes later with this carefully folded note, for me: (a future Hallmark writer, perhaps?!)

Note the large broken heart? How “LOVE” is crossed out? The hearts and tootsie rolls all slashed? And my FAVORITE, that got John and I both to have tears of laughter rolling down our cheeks- he writes “NORA JONES IS A OLD HAG” because this is the CD I’ve been listening to on the kitchen stereo lately. (and what is she, like 27 years old?!! not quite in “old hag” category yet) Striking out, this was Caleb’s highest insult-my taste in music. I am SO saving this note for his wife…this will be even funnier in about 20 years…

So he cooled off a bit and we were able to reason together, and he prayed for help with his temper. Bless his little heart, his emotions are right there at the surface-not so great when the emotion is anger but truly wonderful when it’s his fierce, passionate love bursting forth the same way. I love this boy.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in so silly, son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

