Guilt is an ugly chihuaha

Josiah and Caleb share the hammock for some afternoon reading.
My plans to do school all summer has been a little noisy dog in my head, nipping constantly at my heels to “get BUSY!!” I have been ignoring it, or trying to, but the original plans have not lined up with the reality of our summer, and can you believe it’s mid-July? I confess, it’s been making me a little crazy. So today I had enough, and I took that yippy little mutt to the Pound.
If I was talking to a good friend who was struggling with the same guilt and indecision I’ve suffered since mid-June, I would give her the “School is Secondary-Family is Primary” speech. Then I would reassure her that a little time off is good for everyone, that the books will still be there in August. That learning is still happening and she has permission to Relax. Great advice, I can dish it out but don’t always take it…this time I did!
So I am officially cancelling school for July. The new “Must-do” list is amended to: Blueberry picking. Take the canoe out on Fern Ridge Lake. Sam and Josiah’s Birthday party. Teach the younger 2 boys how to ride a bike with confidence. Play-dates. Swimming. Lazy days around the house. Eat lots of watermelon. Go to the Coast as often as possible. Play dates with friends. Homemade pudding pops. Library trips. See Crater Lake for the first time.
So in-between my constant moving of the sprinklers I will get a few cupboards organized and catch up on my scrapbook albums. Oh, and I won’t forget to brew some sun tea and take a turn in that hammock, myself…
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, skoolin'. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilt is an ugly chihuaha

  1. Amy says:

    Beautiful post, Brenda! I actually printed it out & stuck it by my day-timer. Thanks for reminding me what summer is about…we have such a short time to create wonderful summertime memories for them. Besides, I think I could use a summer break as much as the kids!

Leave a Reply

