if you love Me, feed my sheep

We’ve been watching this sparrow family in our yard. Though they are in a birdhouse high up on the power pole (and thus safe from the murderous cat ZuZu) that pole is right in our driveway, in the middle of the action, so to speak. When we go to the car the devoted parents shriek out their alarms and if you dare to open the door beneath them to get a popsicle out of the freezer you wonder by their reactions if this time they WILL kamikaze, and stab you bloody with their tiny yellow beaks.
Non-stop, the 3 babies cheep for more-moremore.

The poor mama and papa flit about constantly, bringing nourishment to them and reducing the bad bugs on the tomatoes for me. Though I feel for these tiny parents, I find it inspiring how dedicated they are-watching, protecting, feeding. They obey the instinct the Creator put in them, and never let up or slack in their faithfulness to their children. I also find it absolutely delightful how personal God is with me. Sparrows (of all birds!) working faithfully and tirelessly to feed 3 (of all numbers!)

Just as I am praying and planning for the new school year, God gives me this living example of what perseverance looks like and then a Scripture to sow in my heart for the year ahead:
“For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God, you may receive what is promised…but my righteous one shall live by faith, and if he shrinks back, My soul has no pleasure in him. But we are not of those who shrink back to destruction, but of those who have faith to the preserving of the soul.” Hebrews 10:36, 38-39 (NASB)
5 years of homeschooling and I am getting a bit tired. I look ahead at junior high coming up for Josiah and grow even more weary. I love my kids and want them home, but sadly, I am simply tired of teaching! Yet I know God is the One who originally called us to this life, and I firmly believe this is not just His desire for us as a family, it is His personal ministry for me.
I long to be as faithful in this journey as the little birds outside my door…
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in deep thoughts, skoolin'. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to if you love Me, feed my sheep

  1. Rebeca says:

    That’s really neat how God used those little sparrows to encourage and challenge you! (In your sparrow journey no less!) I recently had a sparrow experience too- Peregrine and I had just read a story about some missionaries and their faith in the face of great danger, and how God had cared for them. Later that morning our Scripture reading took us to the passage that says “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny?…” A while later I looked up and there were two sparrows clinging to our window screen- I have not before or since seen them on the screen! The following days brought some difficulties and it was so nice to look back and see how God had brought those two little sparrows to remind me of His care.Long comment…. sorry! Hope to see you soon! Rebeca

Leave a Reply

