a great day.

When you serve an omniscient God you don’t believe in luck, good or bad. For if He is in control, (and He is), then all things come into our lives by His hand. If I did believe in bad luck, well then yesterday would have found me bubble wrapping the children and locking the doors.
Here’s a little play-by-play of our adventures. Let’s just say we didn’t exactly run out and buy a Powerball ticket last night…

-before 9 a.m,the schoolroom window gets broken by a clumsy,yet contrite, boy.
-Josiah gets stung by a wasp on the toe, reaches down to grab his foot and is stung again on the hand for trying.
-Baking 1st batch of muffins and as I go to put them in the oven I see the shredded zucchini still on the counter. Scrape the batter out, add zucchini, repeat.
-John calls and his battery in the car has died.
-Josiah’s throat “feels funny”. Racing to get him Benadryl in case he is allergic like his Grandpa.
-Washing machine that had a slow leak previously, now has a big one and we notice the water is now under the hall subfloor. “Old Faithful” is now 10 years old and 2-3 loads a day has done her in.
-Feeding the chickens I see that my favorite hen isn’t walking and her back is contorted. Black feathers are evidence of the crime, littered in one far corner of the coop. It looks like a raccoon or fox may have tried to reach her through the wire to grab her and now she’s suffering.
-2nd batch of zucchini muffins is in the oven. I lick some batter off my finger and gag. I forgot the sugar. Scrape the batter out, add sugar, repeat.
-John calls. The jokers at Chrysler put the battery under the air filter (even I, in total ignorance of all things auto, know you need access to the battery!) Walmart can’t replace it, you need a mechanic to go under the car and pull it out through the wheel well-a 2 hour job.
-A bowl of water explodes in the microwave, blowing the door open and spilling out over the stove and into the caramel frosting I had just made for the cursed zucchini muffins.

All this, and the boys have their 3 hour state mandated testing in the afternoon. Sam has never been tested before and I meant to go over testing skills with him the week before but had not. Josiah is a bit groggy on the Benadryl and I wonder if he can focus. I start planning, mentally doing gymnastics, readying myself to explain to the ESD why my children are failing. My fears were ungrounded, but after the day we’d had, I was more than a little anxious over how they (and me, as teacher) would do. I started to cry in total relief when the testing coordinator explained each number and rank, and discovered that both of the boys’ had achieved “exceptionally high” test scores.
God gets all the praise. This was a great day, after all.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, skoolin'. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a great day.

  1. Anonymous says:

    A comedy of errors-but who is laughing. How nice to have a little icing with the day. Oh, the muffins sound delicious. Can I have the recipe?Susan

Leave a Reply

