life and laundry

You know what is wonderful? The way children look at things so differently than adults. I think of the local Laundromat as a major pain. I try and remember my ancestors, beating their clothes on the river rocks, and be grateful but it’s not easy for me. The place is dirty. Loud. Stuffy and hot. But my sweet boys thought it was a great adventure! They brought the Sequence game, and a dozen books and a Star Wars lunchbox full of Legos. They played Pinball and we walked over to the Deli for corn dogs. They pushed the carts around and took turns feeding quarters into the hungry machines. They helped me fold and load and asked when, oh when?! could we come back?! I was thoroughly humbled by their attitudes and by the time we left I was looking at it differently. Which is a good thing because it will be a few more weeks before we get that new machine.
Oh and we might be plagued by an appliance demon (remember the Far Side cartoon?!) for our dishwasher stopped draining water today.
…. I know! My ancestors did dishes in the sink.with blue Dawn liquid.and towel drying. This punitive tradition was a big part of my childhood evenings (note to Brian, sorry about all those nasty, huge pots that I
left to “soak” for your turn the next evening! You didn’t really mind, did you?!)
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to life and laundry

  1. kelli says:

    LOL my kids LOVE the laundromat as well ours was on the fritz and we could not afford to have it fixed for a while and had to go as well….i dreaded every moment until i got there and was able to feed off of their awe and excitement! children are so good for us goody-two-shoe adults!! (not sure if that is the correct way to spell it but you get it!)

Leave a Reply

