Happy Birthday John!

We used EVERY candle in the drawer, and 7 lollipop sticks as stand-ins to properly proclaim, via fire, that my dear husband is now 37. Last year I knocked myself out with a 3 layer sponge cake (that recipe had 14 eggs! took 2 days to make it in 5 separate stages! real cream!) and this year I was ready to make that one look easy (for some odd reason, to me- baking equals love. I thought that was normal but certain friends keep insisting it is not.). But John requested this old thing. I’m embarrassed to even show the photo of it here but go ahead, look at that shameful cake above…A BOX cake mix. with a box of pudding in there, to add insult. And not even a real frosting, just a glaze, made with only 2 ingredients-boring. (okay. yes, it IS tasty I admit) but so common, so simple, so easy. Yet he raved about it! If it hadn’t been his special day a sharp fork might have been hurled at his midsection when he dared to say “better than last years”. This is my John, to a tee. He is easily pleased. Doesn’t require perfection. Asks for little. Enjoys things just as they are. If life gets rushed and we have Rice Crispies for dinner his response is, that sounds great. When the floor is sticky and I apologize for not mopping his reply is “didn’t notice” even as he tries to pull his stocking feet up out of the muck. He is always trying to help me SLOW DOWN, and SIMPLIFY and RELAX. I learned that it actually pleases him more when I just sit with him. To hang out, to read a book next to him while the Mariners play instead of rushing about cleaning the house for him, baking cinnamon rolls for him, ironing one last shirt for him! I guess it really wasn’t for him, all those years. Turns out I kind of liked the feeling of accomplishment, the sense of purpose in all the doing. When I stopped to see what he wanted, it seemed too easy…just me, really? Calm, relaxed, happy and still?
So chalk that down to one more way John has led me towards the Father. one more way this marriage relationship shines a little light for me onto the old path.
That’s all He wants, too.
us.
to stop rushing.
to “be still and know that I am God.”
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in knight in shining armor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday John!

  1. bzymom says:

    AMEN!! Did I just say this? How funny our guys are so alike!!!.. Thinking of youTricia

Leave a Reply

