back to school

and the Red Barn Academy is now in session. The boys do the obligatory groaning as we head out to the schoolroom each morning but I’ve noticed it decreasing each day. I suspect that they are enjoying being back to “normal” as much as I am!
Here is Sam, almost done with math and ready to get outside. The boys read books that have government school in the plot so they call playtime “recess” for fun. Lately Caleb has taken to calling me the Lunch Lady and complimenting the cafeteria on it’s menu.
Josiah bends so far over his work that if I didn’t know better I’d think he was sleeping! He is always first to get done, though he has 2 subjects more than his brothers. Yesterday I spread out a 600 piece puzzle on the coffee table for the boys to work on during Read-Aloud time. Josiah finished it today (thought it would take a few weeks at least!) so we dug out another one…he and I love them!
Caleb finished his “Y”s in the Handwriting practice book today and asked to color the Yak. Now there are 2 little stick people, impaled upon the Yaks’ horns. And a primitive man riding the gentle beast bareback, with his head reared back, yelling “Wee!” And notice how the photo was cropped short, NOT showing the back end of the yak? (Let’s just say this particular child enjoys the brown crayon, ok?)

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in skoolin'. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to back to school

  1. Brian says:

    HaHa LUNCH LADY!!! Do I recall a certain someone helping out in the lunch line in our elementary school? and oh yeah, YAK poo is funny!

  2. Anonymous says:

    That’s hilarious! You mean my boys aren’t the only ones obsessed with bodily functions right now?! Oh, and I think I need a tour of your school ‘barn’…I didn’t even know you had one! How cool!~Amy

  3. Rebeca says:

    I laughed out loud at the impaled people! Please thank Caleb for me! And thanks again for the time last night and the conversation- I left feeling so encouraged, like maybe there is hope after all! Rebeca

Leave a Reply

