roll cameras!



Yesterday we had a bit of adventure. We got a call asking us to be interviewed on a local TV station. They just needed a quick 3 minute soundbite from “an actual homeschooling family”. I said no thanks several times, tried to get 2 other Moms to do it but no dice. My hesitations were these:

1. They say TV adds 10 lbs. I won’t be ready for my on-air debut until 2016.

2. I get flustered and talk too fast when nervous, I will look like an idiot on air.

3. They were trying to get a homeschool vs. public school kind of discussion going and I didn’t want any part of that. To me controversy in this area is overblown and divisive. My personal conviction is that “you do what God leads”. If He calls me to enroll the boys in a government school (though I pray He does not) I will obey and trust His plan for them, as individuals.

But the reason I finally agreed is-

A. reasons #1 and #2 were just completely self-focused and selfish. I felt like Moses objecting “but Lord, Your servant cannot speak well!”

B. I didn’t want the TV crew getting some whack-o homeschool crazy on there instead, ranting gibberish and lowering this ministry in the eyes of the public.

C. I remembered a recent prayer where I had promised God to do, and go and speak “whatever He asked” What if this was from Him? I had said no several times, had tried to find an Aaron to speak for me, and was it a coincidence that the house was clean and I had put on mascara that very morning? (these are rare instances during the school week!)

So I said yes. Tidied up Legos in a frenzy. Pulled on a non-butter stained blouse. Prayed a short desperate prayer. And the cameras were in our kitchen 3 minutes later!

The boys made me so proud-though they were done with school already they spread out the books on the table and worked diligently for the camera (Sam-“and I wasn’t even acting Mom! I did 2 more Grammar pages!”) I asked the camera guy to come back everyday, for that camera had some magic power that turned them into quiet, focused students. I answered the anchor man’s questions and smiled, trying to look somewhat intelligent (but forgetting to take out my gum from earlier)

Caleb said later “Mom, I am glad you talked about God. People don’t hear about Him enough.” and that just totally blessed me.

So we recorded the 5 pm news-nothing. The 6 pm news had a few seconds of the boys studying and a close up of Sam’s hand. I was afraid the boys would be disappointed in how little air time we had but they were THRILLED. “We’re celebrities!!” and Sam could not stop looking at his hand “Wow. My HAND was on TV.”

Now he jokes “Talk to the famous hand” and tells his brothers “Quiet, or I’ll hit you with my famous hand.”

oh boy. A little fame goes right to the head.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in skoolin', son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to roll cameras!

  1. Anonymous says:

    THAT HAND!! Ive seen that before! that hand is so famous!

Leave a Reply

