Field Trip



We went to the A.C. Gilbert Discovery House Children’s Museum, yesterday, with my brother and his family. On the way to Salem, a school bus went by and I couldn’t help but voice a bit of homeschool propoganda…always in the name of helping them appreciate their lot in life, okay? “hey look at those poor kids, off to public school and you get the museum all to yourselves…” Just accentuating the positive, and trying to shore up the plus side in defense against inevitable grumblings on less interesting Wednesdays.

And we did only see 2 or 3 other children in the whole museum, so the cousins got to enjoy the hands-on displays thoroughly. I might have looked around and thought it was a little young for my boys but since I didn’t say that, they didn’t think so, and all three were racing around and having fun. Caleb declared it was the best kids museum we had ever been to!! (and we’ve been to our share, truly). We’ll definitely be going back soon. The playground was incredible, so we’ve decided to wait for a sunny day and bring a picnic lunch and Daddy, and enjoy it all again.

After playing there we headed to my fave scrapbook store. (insert bold-faced lie HERE) I didn’t really want to go. I had to show my sister in law where it was. I only spent $17 to make her more comfortable. ahem.

Finally, we finished the outing with dinner at the boys favorite little gourmet hotspot-Denny’s. full tummies. long drive home. talking together in the dark. lots of thank yous and exhausted boys falling asleep within the hour. a terrific way to spend a drizzly February day!
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in family, outings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Field Trip

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sounds great. We need one of those days. If I didn’t have so much to do around here, hey maybe we should go somewhere anyways. I have your container and a book on gardening, that I was cleaning out. I’m not going to use it. I will let you have it and if I have any questions, I’ll just ask you! LOLSusan

  2. Rebeca says:

    Wow, that looks like a fun place! We’ll have to check it out sometime. Hope to see you Monday!

Leave a Reply

