count your blessings…

name them one by one…!

I was feeling a little post-vacation letdown today. Real life-laundry-school-rain-and housework had me sighing for sunny California and a little more of that Disney magic. So I decided to go around with my camera and count some blessings. Just some little things that I am enjoying, today. The biggies? I am always grateful for a warm home, this loving family, faithful God, and real friends. But today is just an exercise in documenting a few of the many many bonuses. Beyond meeting my needs, He fills my day with the details that make March 3rd, 2008 absolutely wonderful…yes, even with rain and laundry!

mmm-look at this! All the food groups represented. In old brown transferware dishes with that rich red tomato soup, crisp green pears and a gooey grilled cheese sandwich. Hungry boys don’t notice lovely color contrasts and careful composition of their lunch. (and they exclaim “hey! I want to eat! Why are you taking a picture of my FOOD?!” but Mrs. Warner, my 8th grade home ec teacher? She would be proud. Might even give me an A, since I served it with milk and got 2 dairy products in there.
New Jack Johnson CD! I don’t like it as much as the last one but that’s only because it’s new. Once I have listened over 12x and know all the lyrics it will be a fave. John’s love for me was proved the day he put a CD player in the kitchen. Plus I can bake for hours now. Hmm, I just figured that out. He may have had motives beyond true love, motives that included more pie.
Spring is coming! Had to get a few pansies on the last trip to BiMart and plant the first flowers (of hundreds) for the 2008 growing season. Those brilliant marketers put the primroses and pansies right by the entrance doors. Tempting the winter weary shoppers, who only needed Tylenol and batteries but can’t pass up bright, colorful pots of hope at 2/$3.
I’m loving the new color palette of rich browns, greens and creams in the kitchen. Redecorating and “playing house” is a favorite hobby. It is the first time I haven’t had the color red in my kitchen since 1991! It’s all in the garage though, waiting for me to change back-I can never be without SOME red in the house. I decoupaged the shoe bench (and the stools!) with extra scrapbook paper, going right over the old designs. Got a little crazy with the Mod Podge again. should get stock in that stuff. then we would get rich. and buy a bigger house. to cover in Mod Podge.
and this set of 4 cutting boards ($4.84 at Walmart!). Marked for fish-veggies-beef etc so there are less cross-contamination risks. (I have this fear–okay, it’s more like a phobia–of salmonella, botulism, e. coli. etc). Hanging on a little hook inside the cupboard door-aaaahhh. For 2 years I have shuffled cutting boards around the kitchen, trying to find the right spot! This small solution is a big sigh of relief. I told you they were little things!


And my motto since January. It stays on the kitchen white board to remind me that the pursuit of balance is a worthy pursuit. Fighting both genetics and habit, I am committed to reaching for excellence in every area, yet forgiving myself when I inevitably stumble and fall. Its been wonderful, discovering this place between Lazy and Crazy!
Everyday. Coffee. It makes me hum “God is so good….He’s so good to me!”

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, me me me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

