we’re all still here…

and alive, healthy, flourishing. Just been wonderfully busy with this blessed life. Well that, and I have an all or nothing personality that permeates every aspect of my days, including this blog. That means when I am “in a mood and on a roll” you will get 2 or 3 posts a day and then, inexplicably, the blog will be suddenly silent. Then I’m back! With no rhyme nor reason! Consistency is just a GOAL, people. not a reality.

Caleb was promised an apple. Mom got on the phone and was unusually (ha) chatty. Caleb is not allowed to interrupt unless there is blood, vomit or fire involved. So he gets desperate and makes this note. And stands there. Holding up his shirt. Alternating between pointing to his empty stomach and this note. When he was almost a year old and we were coming to the realization that, wow. This one is different than the other two! Grandma Claudia gave these reassuring words, that I have clung to, ever since. “Well. yes, he is the third child but he will always get his needs met.” amen and amen.

My brothers’ son Cody was baptized recently. We were thrilled to go up to Portland and be a part of that. Here Brian is, with his wife Anne and the niece and nephew I blog about as much as my own children. I am SO tickled to be godmother to this precious boy. Since I have never been a godparent I am watching Francis Ford Coppola’s series on this, to make sure I do it correctly. Leave the gun, take the cannoli, right?

All the boys love getting Cody to giggle. Here Josiah found a ticklish spot.

Seeing as I have 12 plus years as an extremely experienced judge on “little boy cuteness” I give him a 7 to 10. Depending on how full the diaper is at scoring time, of course.

Here is what we’ve been up to, a short synopsis of what has been going on.

Tom has moved back with Uncle Deacon so while I get the coffee pot all to myself again, I have no muscles on standby when I decide to move a fence or dig up a tree.

We were fingerprinted and had criminal background checks so we could get qualified to care for our friends’ foster children. This fascinated Sam, our little detective-in-training. He was asking lots of questions and seemed a little disappointed that we had nothing to hide and weren’t going undercover as a family, nor joining the Witness Protection Program. Sorry bud. Maybe in a few years.

Went to a Mom’s Encouragement Tea on Saturday and was glad when “it worked”. Came home with a renewed excitement about not just homeschooling, but mothering in general.

Sunday a friend watched the boys for us after church. I had planned a romantic trip with John to Home Depot. We are remodeling soon and I thought we could pick out doors, windows, etc. I am still a die-hard romantic despite 18 years with Mr. Practical but have you noticed how you start learning from each other? And rubbing off on each others personality? So I get practical because hey, we rarely get time alone (and I am so excited to start this house project) that I calmly figure we can just hold hands in the aisle. under the fluorescent lights. while we gently discuss various caulking methods. But John is growing more romantic over the years and suggested (okay. decided.) that we would drive 45 minutes to the Coast, talking (ooh ooh! my favorite!) the whole way and listening to a cd of love songs he made just for us. A decadent seafood lunch with a table near the water. A quiet walk on the beach, holding hands. Oh, I know you all may be tired of hearing this but….sheesh! I love this man!


And we’ve been gardening a lot. The boys are choosing plants too-makes my heart burst with joy to see any dirt love growing in my kiddos. Josiah-watermelon. Caleb-cukes. Sam-beets because I promised we will learn how to pickle ’em. Still plugging away at school each day, and getting in some “extras” like Science classes and lapbooking. Still doing Meals on Wheels delivery each week.Still walking 6 plus miles every Saturday morning. Enjoying extra family ministry opportunities lately, caring for friends. I’m going away this weekend and the menfolk are planning a rowdy “boys weekend”. And the remodeling I mentioned up there? We are enclosing our front porch. I can’t call it a foyer because it is not that fancy but I am hoping for something a little classier than a “mud room”. Basically a place to hang your coat and say hello before you are boom! in our kitchen. And while we are at it and already making a mess, we are enclosing the side patio to make a sunporch type room. When you live in a small-ish house, the thought of an extra 12 x 24 foot room? It means that when I get online I am looking for used materials on Craigslist, decorating advice on cottage living, plans and advice on remodeling sites.Therefore, I don’t blog much. But wait until we get started! You’ll get to watch it all go up, board by board! I will give you a blow by blow of every hammer fall and document each step for your personal viewing pleasure!

(just kidding. I wouldn’t risk that. I want all four of you to come back.)

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, so silly. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to we’re all still here…

  1. Brian says:

    Brenda, you are awesome. Love you.

  2. Anne says:

    Thanks so much for the entire commentary! It was a great read. Brian made me start reading this months ago and now I MUST HAVE IT! It’s funny how much you crave the connection to your family. Sam, that little free spirit, is so witty and quick. Josiah, the thinker (and silent watcher/listener), is so steady and true. Caleb, ah Caleb, ingenious. I hope he will always use his “super” powers for the good jedi knight side. Otherwise, we are probably all doomed. =) Thanks for blogging, Brenda.

Leave a Reply

