gettin’ there

Okay Anne, you wanted to know! Here is the latest porch progress:
We have a front door! And siding! And exterior lights! (though they aren’t working yet but aren’t they purty?!) Hopefully this week the cedar shakes will go up on the eaves there above. The plan (as budget permits) is to install stacked rock wainscoting around the bottom 3 feet or so. Then I will dig out a half moon shape in the gravel and install flagstone pavers, with so there is a little softness between the gravel driveway and the entrance. John is going to put some trim around the windows and you know I am already asking for shutters and windowboxes.

I painted all day today but you can hardly tell, can you? The main exterior color I chose was Benjamin Moore “providence olive”. It dries out to be NOT OLIVE but khaki, only about one shade darker than the previous color. (you can see the old color on the eaves there) The trim color was (in my mind and on the chip-I can prove it was) a rich, dark Ghiradelli chocolate. It dried to more of a Swiss Miss hot cocoa. Which is good, since the body color is not green, as planned. And don’t worry, the lack of daughters has not driven me to create a hot pink front door. The sun was setting and the photo was off. It’s more of a russet red. Though, again, not as dark as I thought. But it ties the house to the red barn/garage/schoolroom that is twice the size of the house and directly across from it.
On one hand I am a little disappointed in the whole shebang because I was really looking forward to a change. Preferably a change to something in the GREEN family. However, it’s not worth buying new paint nor spending another sunny Sunday afternoon slathering it on. Besides, I’ve always kind of liked the khaki color, anyway. It’s just a whole lotta work for such a subtle change.
And the fact is this…
I have never been a big fan of subtle.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to gettin’ there

  1. Anne says:

    Looks nice! Where are the twisty topiaries? I was going to write and rag you about not updating on progress enough, but I see you’ve already read my mind! Love the lights! I would want mine to look something like that if my husband would let me buy some. (Maybe a little more square, but similar.) What’s with the air conditioning? Can’t wait to see the inside! Yeah!

  2. fromthenarrows says:

    Looks great. You will enjoy your new space, I am sure!Susan

Leave a Reply

