Happy Birthday Brian!

We are so glad my brother Brian and his wife Anne only live 2 hours away. They spent the last 2 days here with us and we celebrated his birthday early…my “little” brother will be 35 next week. And he has the gray hair to prove it. I am 14 months older but thanks to Loreal Medium Auburn I am not nearly as decrepit in appearance as he, unfortunately, is.

Isn’t this a great shot of 6 month old Cody loving his old Daddy?! Children don’t notice things like gray hair. Sisters who were teased a lot, do. And decades later they get their revenge. with a blog.

Caitlin helps her Dad blow out 3.5 candles (one for each decade) in his apple crisp. The jalepenos seen in the foreground are not part of that recipe, nor the revenge plot. You can’t see all the grays here, they are mostly in the back. When the sun shines on them they are more white than gray, actually. I think that’s even more advanced, isn’t it? tsk tsk. Hard living reaps its just rewards…

This is what I live for…noise and chaos and laughter and eating and love. The end result when you fill a small house with all the family you can squeeze in. I feed them, I love them, I rarely tease to the point of tears…so WHY won’t everyone I am even halfway related to just up and MOVE to our town and make this a Sunday afternoon tradition?! I am bound to resort to violence, and soon.

In case you are called upon to identify a body or two-from the left that’s Uncle Deacon, then Josiah making goofy lips at you all, and Anne-my favorite of all Brian’s wives so far-then Uncle Tommy in his 10 gallon hat. He’s passing Cody off to Brian and Sam is leaning in, waiting for Mom to be distracted so he can swipe more tortilla chips before dinner.

John had to take Brian trout fishing for his birthday (he was resigned to it and understood sacrifices must be made). Anne and I teased them heartily as the previous records for their fishing excursions are nil to nada. But we ate our words (and barbecued rainbow) for dinner tonight and then we fired up the outdoor firepit and had the season’s first s’mores. A pretty wonderful day.

So, Brian? Thanks for being born! I just want to apologize. Because remember when that crazygirl in Jr High wanted to beat me up because we always stood together at the bus stop? And she thought I was your girlfriend and we were both disgusted? And how she got all sugary nice to me because I was your sister and she wanted me to put in a good word for her? And I said if you went out with that ditz I wouldn’t speak to you? And we stood apart at the bus stop after that, in case anyone ELSE thought we were dating and eeewwww? Well I am sorry for that. And if I had the chance again I would stand by you proudly.

Only now you’d have to wear a hat or something because with all that silver hair the other kids might think I was standing with MY DAD.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday Brian!

  1. Alisa Johnston says:

    HARRRRR….oh revenge…Happy Birthday, Brian! May the rest of us remember to stay on HER good side!By the way…we could always show up at your house Sunday afternoon…after naps…we fill a house and cause lots of noise…

  2. Mamaduso says:

    You are too funny! Susan

  3. Brian says:

    I thought we were clear on this… I’m the funny one. I had forgotten about the bus stop bimbo. haha.As for the grey hair, Grandpa said it best. “It’s not the years, it’s the miles.” The weird thing is, all these grey hairs showed up after I had kids. Anyway, thanks for the birthday bash. As always, we had a great time. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

