Baked Oatmeal

In my everlasting quest to increase nutrition and protein, avoid cold cereal breakfasts yet still make mornings easy I found this delicious recipe, by Leslie Sasuage. (I don’t know her, not sure where I found her recipe but hey, thanks! It’s been a blessing!) Now, you can make the batter overnight and slide it into the oven in the morning, but you need to be coherent enough to run an oven 45 minutes before your babes are starving. This is a rare condition for me, so I bake it the day before and store in the fridge, heating slices in the microwave as needed. If you do not have 3 boys in pre-adolescent growth patterns, you can get 3-4 days from one 9 x 13 pan. We can get 2 days if we serve lots of fruit alongside.
It slices quite thick and hearty, more like a dense cake. If you have a child who hates the mushy texture of regular oatmeal they might enjoy this instead…no guarantees. I have one of those finicky children, and am aware that you just never know with some kids. But you can copy me and build anticipation by singing out “Wow! You get to have breakfast cake!? Don’t enjoy it too much, it’s a really, really special treat!” and pretend to think long and hard about your answer before allowing second helpings.

Baked Oatmeal
6 c. quick cooking oatmeal (I use old-fashioned, it works fine)
1 c. sugar (I’ve replaced with splenda with no problems)
1 c. packed brown sugar ( don’t substitute-you really need that caramel flavor)
2 t. salt
1 t. baking powder
2 c. milk
1 c. veg oil
4 slightly beaten eggs
Mix wet ingredients, add dry. Pour into greased (I use nonstick spray) 9 x 13 size pan. 350 for 35-45 minutes or until set. Serve with additional milk, if desired.

This is the original recipe but I add stuff, of course. I have some kind of disorder (send money) where I can’t leave any recipes alone, no matter how good they are in the first place. For this one I always add vanilla and cinnamon (because oatmeal is bland and everyone knows that oatmeal NEEDS vanilla and cinnamon, except apparently, Leslie Sasuage, bless her heart.) I covertly stir in about 1/4 cup of ground flax meal because I just like to sneak that into everything. I found out the hard way you can’t sneak in toasted wheat germ though, the little bloodhounds totally noticed that addition.
2 of my 3 rugrats like it warm in a bowl, with cream and maple syrup poured over it. The little rebel likes it plain. on a plate. with milk in a glass. so he can take a bite then add his milk manually. via a bendy straw. preferably blue.
oh man. I am whipped, aren’t I?

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in lovin' from the oven. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Oatmeal

  1. Cousin Sara says:

    Brenda, it must run in the blood! We have been baked oatmeal junkies for years! We first discovered it in a small restaurant in Turlock, CA. Sooo Yummy and a perfect addition to a relaxing, sunny Sabath morn!Here’s another make ahead breakfast that’s my family’s favorite (can be halved):Sausage Egg Bake2 – 16 ounce Jimmy Dean Sausage rolls2 pounds shredded or cubed hash browns, thawed 9 Eggs16 ounces of shredded cheddar cheese2½ cups of half and half1 teaspoon seasoned salt (I use Nature’s Seasons)1½ teaspoons of dry mustard Directions:Cook sausage in a skillet until it is thoroughly cooked. Then drain it on a paper towel. Grease 13 x 9 glass pan. Layer half of the hash browns, half the sausage, and half the cheese, in that order. Repeat layers. Beat eggs in a large bowl. Then add half-and-half, seasoned salt, and dry mustard to the eggs. Beat again until the egg mixture is well blended. Pour the egg and half-and-half mixture evenly over the layers. Sprinkle with parsley and paprika. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. Bake the next morning in a 325 degree oven for 1 hour or until the egg bake reaches an internal temperature of 155 degrees with a thermometer. Let stand 10 minutes before cutting. Serves 10-12. Love and Miss you!**Sara

  2. Rebeca says:

    I have that same disorder! Erik likes to tease me about it, of course! This looks like a good recipe. If I wasn’t so tired I’d go mix some up right now. I commend you on your attempt to add nutrition and protein, but MICROWAVING it??? Ahhhh….. :> It was great to see you last night… thanks for being there! Love,Rebeca

Leave a Reply

