spring makeover

Spring is here and Summer is around the corner. With the good weather we are painting the tired old siding, adding fresh flowers to the empty pots and washing windows to let the sunshine in. And this freshening has not been limited to real estate only! As you can tell, this blog has been re-designed! Darcy over at http://www.graphicallydesigning.com/ has done a great job, hasn’t she? She’s a homeschool Mom of 3 boys, also and has a fun blog here http://www.lifewithmy3boybarians.com/. Thanks Darcy, it was a great experience working with you and you ARE a geek, to the benefit of those around you!!

So I love the color scheme (because those are dirt garden colors ya know!) and the polka dots are incredibly fun but my favorite part is the header above. I just love that juxtaposition of the fragile little sparrow clinging to sharp barbwire. Do you feel the visual metaphor there? I can’t help but think of our lives, our journey here on this earth…and how it gets rough sometimes. There are seasons where our perch may feel precarious but oh, this God…! this amazing, loving God who knows our frame because He inhabited it on our behalf…He promised that we are worth more to Him than many sparrows and every hair on our head is counted. The intimacy in that statement! How He wants us to know we are treasured! When the boys were babies I knew every freckle, crease and cowlick from constant attention. They were MINE and in the constant bathing and nursing and dressing I knew that child like no one else could. This is the attention to detail I hear Him speak of in this verse. His reassurance that His care for me is constant, for His attention to His children doesn’t diminish as they grow and His knowledge of us is not just of hairs and freckles but of every single thought, each particular longing of the heart…the inner me, the real me.

All my life I will be repeating this fact. That everything in my life changed the day I chose to finally believe this shocking truth…that He was for me, not against me.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in blogging, deep thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to spring makeover

  1. Mamaduso says:

    Oh my goodness, it looks fabulous!Susan

Leave a Reply

