it’s not a porch anymore

but that’s what we still call it, out of habit. I guess it’s an entryway? Foyer being too grandiose and mudroom being too rustic. Anyway, whatever you want to call it-it’s almost done! You can see the side trim is only on one side and unpainted, and the stacked stone has been put off for budget constraints. Oh and the shakes on top are half complete because our chop saw broke. And I still want to dig out the driveway and add a half round entry area but other than all that, it’s done! I had to sprinkle red cayenne pepper and garlic powder in the hanging pots so the deer (big yard rats) won’t treat them like their own personal salad bowls. I’m telling you all, so if you visit us and smell that you will know why we have “salsa bowls” greeting you…
I re-painted the door today. That red just wasn’t working for me. So I got a small helping of the green color I originally hoped for and love it. I painted all afternoon, with Josiah’s cheerful help, and now we are about 70% done with the overall job. I will be glad to finish! It seems all my free time has been spent with a paintbrush instead of a garden trowel and I am getting withdrawal pains. The weather was SO nice today. It was in the 80s and sunny, and we were all motivated to get done with school by noon to get out there and enjoy it. The boys got out the squirt guns and chased each other around for hours. The UPS man shut his van door pretty quick today when he was greeted by three wild, whooping, and well-armed bandits.
I just realized you can see my reflection in the photo of the door.
Now the whole world knows that I wear a red bandanna do-rag in my hair when I paint.
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

