lots to do, and nothing to say

THERE IS NO REASON FOR THIS PICTURE. I TAKE PHOTOS EVERYWHERE BECAUSE I AM WEIRD. I HAD MY CAMERA AND WAS WAITING FOR MY LATTE. BUT THE LOOKS ON THEIR FACES IS PRICELESS. THE TOTAL MORTIFICATION, ESPECIALLY ON SAM! MORE PHOTOS?! IN PUBLIC?! WHY MOM, WHY?!!! THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FOLLOWING POST. ITS JUST RANDOM. WHICH, I GUESS, HAS A LOT TO DO WITH THE FOLLOWING POST…

John is giving me grief about the lack of posting on here. When I said “but I have nothing to talk about!” he laughed and said “good one.” Why can’t anyone believe that occasionally even Chatty Cathy’s batteries run down?! (remember that doll? never liked her. interrupted me.)

So what should I type in this blank white box? The kids haven’t said or done anything profound or clever in days. No great photos (case in point, see above) This week is one of school and housework and errands such as “drop off recycling” and “post office” i.e. boring but necessary life type stuff.

I don’t believe in boring. Hard enough to live it, much less describe it to you all. If the boys don’t want a sermon (or a chore assignment) they know not to ever say “Mom, I’m bored.” So I will dig down deep and try to give you all something for your efforts at clicking on this page, moving your eyeballs horizontally back and forth, using your limited gray matter to process my vast vocabulary…

Finished a few books that were really intriguing. “Blue Like Jazz” by Donald Miller,”The Shack” by William P. Young (thanks Aunt Alayne!) and I am almost done with “In Light of Eternity” by Randy Alcorn. Each of these were wonderful precisely because they stretched me. Don’t you love that? I think a great book is one where the author challenges your mind, and makes you go “hmmm. not sure what I think about x, y or x” and leaves you mentally wrestling just a bit. Parts of each book I wholeheartedly agreed with and a good chunk made me go “whoa. hadn’t considered that before” which is awesome. So I would heartily recommend these if you are looking for some summer reading. It’s not chick lit but hey, life is too short for twaddle.

In other entertainment news we took the boys to see “Prince Caspian.” So great! Its been ages since I read the series so I asked one question…then I had to shush Josiah from giving me a play-by-play in every scene. He’s read this series by C.S. Lewis dozens of times and after we left he pointed out every discrepancy between the movie and the book. He loves the movies but gets a little huffy about “directors license”. I think it’s terrific that he feels protective of his friend, the author. And I love that as a family, everyone of us can enjoy these movies and get to discuss the themes and plots. I will always miss baby-toddlerhood but am seeing one of the benefits of growing boys, is their growing minds. Conversations about movies, books, even politics lately! I’m liking this glimpse into the men they will soon be.

Went to an all day Scrapbook Crop on Saturday (so fun…thanks D!) and am finally getting some pages from 2008 done. When I go to a crop it is “Boys Day” Lots of video games, neon orange potato-like products, and mismatched wardrobe choices to accompany the bed hair. They push me out the door, I’m telling ya! This weekend was a treat because Daddy took them swimming at the Tennis club. It was in the 90s this weekend and a chilly 4os and rainy today.
(I really believe Oregon, as a state, is bi-polar.)

Sunday we went to another family’s church to witness and rejoice with them over their daughter being baptized, then to a restaurant for lunch and off to a tree-filled park to play-it was a good day. We took advantage of the continuing nice weather, as the week went on,too. John finished the shakes on the porch eaves and I finally got the veggie garden and windowboxes planted up.

We are tickled to have Lee and Claudia coming up to spend Memorial Day weekend with us. Trying to get the mudroom/entry finished and little projects here and there complete before their arrival. They just celebrated their 10th anniversary and it will be her birthday! But she insisted, in her sweet humble way, that the weekend not be all about her, so I had to cancel the caterers and send back the band. We’ll do something but I can’t say what, just yet. She reads this blog every 12 minutes.

So there. It’s not very deep or clever but it’s a-little-more-than-nothing.
I can always promise you that.
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to lots to do, and nothing to say

  1. Anne says:

    Just a thought, you could have posted a new picture of the finished shakes you know. Are they done on the other side as well? PLUS, we do like to hear about your mundane life experiences too because you make them FUNNY. Yeah, Brian, did you hear me? I said, “BRENDA IS THE FUNNY ONE!!!”Love you (and your blog too)!

Leave a Reply

