progress

This Akebia vine has started really filling out! From the photo it might be hard to tell how high it is but I had to get out the BIG ladder to tie its reaching tendrils the correct way. I wanted some softness over in this area, since the T-Pole building is such a long stretch of metal. John helped me make “Hillbilly Arbor” last year out of hog wire fencing, stretched over the Shop door and nailed to a 4 x 4 post at the bottom to anchor it. The Akebia is supposed to cover all the wire so you do not notice the crude construction, only the beautiful vine. This is a good start for early June!

I painted all the doors on the property the same shade of green as the front door. It was expensive paint and I was-a- gettin’-my-moneys-worth! I really like how it seems to help tie the 3 separate buildings together better. Then I got all fancy and duct taped a curtain to the back of the Pump house door, to keep strangers from looking in at our well, and water softener, and where we store the Costco bales of toilet paper. The red stripes on it look nice with the neighboring red Shop.I think John suspects I simply had to girly it up. Mom, do you recognize the little red cart and old stove you donated to my garden junk collection? Thanks again! I planted it with red Geums and yellow Coreopsis tickseed and sweet alyssum, and it should fill out soon. I am hoping the deer don’t eat them!

John finished the shakes! And as I type he is outside starting on the other side of the house. Love that man. Can you believe $16.00 worth of cedar (and all his skill) can make such an aesthetic difference? Now the inside is all paneled with bead board and we are getting ready to do the slate tile floor. I will probably do that this weekend but I am nervous. I have only done mosaics, and never a REAL tile job like a floor we have to actually walk on. I have read a few online tutorials and taken lots of notes and even bought a pair of secondhand volleyball pads for my tender knees. Wish me luck and if you’ve done it and have advice, email me, please!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to progress

  1. Anne says:

    It looks great! Is the whole house painted now? Loved the curtain! Looks like it belongs in MY house! heh, heh By the way, I got you two more blue plates for your mosaic needs. At 50 cents each, I figured I could get you two of them. = ) They are different blues, but should fit in with something.

  2. Anne says:

    P.S. Your uncle DEFINITELY knows how to tile floor so ask him over for help. (He’ll probably try to do it for you, but tell him that you need to LEARN.) Good luck! (By the way, if this is successful, maybe you could come help us tile our bathroom floor?)

  3. Alisa Johnston says:

    I think I need to come see this in person! Little ‘bit said she wanted to see Ms. Brenda today!This all looks GREAT! When you get ALL done with your yard…I have another one for you!!

Leave a Reply

