color coordination

For about five years now, Sam has been choosing his own clothes (he’s a boy, I am not allowed to say “outfits”) and dressing himself. And I swear, in that entire time, I say this at least once a week:

“Oh Sam. Honey. Remember? Green and red only go together if it is December and then only if you are a tree.”

and Sam always says “oh yeah!” like we’ve only discussed this once or twice and it is a rule forgotten? This morning, I saw this outfit and just started laughing and took a photo, to document it.

I know that on some Spring day, 15 years from now, he will come home for a visit after many adventures and travels far off. He’ll ask for a biscuits and gravy supper, with lemon bars for dessert. I will be so excited to see him and bustling around the kitchen getting ready. In that first fierce hug and teary eyed greeting I will miss, for the first minute or so, noticing that he is wearing a red sweatshirt with green corduroy pants. Then suddenly, my tears of joy will be mixed with tears of remembrance and also, dismay. I tried to teach him, I did! And I am putting this all down on record now, as proof!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in so silly, son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to color coordination

  1. Brian says:

    Looks fine to me!

Leave a Reply

