easy-peasy giving

Their are 3 purposes of today’s post. Instead of the usual 1 (or half of one). So you are truly getting more ‘fo your money here today folks. I’m saying its worth me neglecting housework to post. It’s worth your neglecting whatever worthwhile pursuits you might otherwise be engaged in, to be sitting there perusing my Thursday morning rambling. Let’s not feel guilt over this, okay? Lets simply pour another creamy iced coffee, and just enjoy our time together.

First purpose, to show off the anniversary gift my sweet John gave me Monday night. Because a blog is like your own personal show and tell…
(by the way. It is very hard to take a picture of yourself, especially backwards. Be thankful it’s from the neck down and I spared you bedhead hair plus crinkly morning face)

For only the second time in our history I had asked him for jewelry. The other time? pearl earrings in 1989. But I did such a good job training him not to get jewelry that it was only this last Christmas that he realized Really? You meant it? and bought them. Because most husbands can safely give baubles for anniversary/ birthday/I’m so sorry gifts and know they will have hit the romance bullseye. John knows I will be sitting there, smiling politely at a little black box and thinking desperately “darn. how many clematis vines or bags of steer manure would this have bought?” He’s a bright one, John, and over time has faithfully followed my not-so-subtle steering towards wheelbarrows, a windmill, truckloads of compost.

However, I have been looking for a cross necklace for 20 years. I wanted one that was beautiful,(for the beautiful sacrifice it symbolizes) but not fussy and ornate (it was an instrument of torture, after all and gilding it in gold just feels wrong) I longed for a daily piece of jewelry that was unique but not hippie weird. Pretty enough to wear everyday but not so pretty that it looks ridiculous with my Mommy uniform of faded jeans and t-shirts.

This one fits the bill perfectly. The description sold me: Wear a piece of ancient history around your neck. A colorful circle of authentic Roman glass, certified to be approximately 2,000 years old, is framed in a timeless sterling silver Jerusalem cross design. The four smaller crosses at the corners are thought to symbolize the four books of the Gospel and the four directions to which the gospel spread from Jerusalem. Makes a lovely symbol of faith or piece of history.

Where did I find this lovely item? So glad you asked! For that brings us to the next post point: Most of us want to help fight poverty and hunger, yet wonder how to do so in practical ways. I was telling Anne about the Hunger Site last night and realized I no longer have it on this blog, in a link. It’s so easy-if you get on the computer everyday (as most of us do) just take a few seconds to click the box and it automatically counts as least 1 cup of food, given to a needy person, somewhere in our big hungry world. Sponsors pay for you to see their ads and the site uses that ad money to buy food. A great idea, super simple and in 6 years plus of clicking I have rarely even looked at the ads…except a few weeks ago, of course, when I saw this necklace and sent the info to John. You know, to help the poor and all. (It was under $30 and they give like 10 extra cups!)

hmmm…1. show off gift 2. tell about Hunger site and oh-yeah-3. I am following this Blogging for Dummies instruction manual and trying to learn how to make a clickable link…let’s see if it works shall we? Go to
The Hunger Site and go painlessly help the needy. Put it in your favorites and once a day go bless someone.

See? Easy peasy.

P.S. My link didn’t make the little underline thing,but if you click on the words “The Hunger Site” above, it will take you to the site. So I guess the link “kinda” worked?!! It works, just incognito! I’ll have to keep studying to learn how to change the color or add the underline so you can tell what is a link and what isn’t.
P.S.S. I think I fixed it! Oh the joy of learning new things, despite middle age!!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in deep thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to easy-peasy giving

  1. Anne says:

    The link didn’t work and I would like to see what else they have! Plus, I need to click for hunger. Do you know where the food is distributed? Oh yeah, and I think the necklace is just perfect for you.

Leave a Reply

