this and that

Here’s a tip for you young ladies…If you DO end up marrying that cute Domino’s pizza delivery boy, then for the rest of your life you get perfect hand-tossed crust!

Caleb stands ready with the toothpick. His job is to deflate the air bubbles and he takes this responsibility very seriously!

It was a new crust recipe, made in the bread machine…

“Chewy and delicious!”, said 2 out of 3 boys. That third boy wrinkled his cute little nose and asked, suspiciously…”Do I smell garlic in this? hmmmm. Is it fresh or is it powder?”

Too much Food Network channel does this.

look! Lucy has learned to hold her ears up like a proper German Shep! Although one keeps flopping down, out of laziness or habit I am not sure. But it certainly changed her appearance and I no longer worry that in my doggy ignorance I purchased a mutt with similar coloring. She comes when we call her (mostly) and sleeps in her crate without whining. Big steps! I am most excited that she now knows how to SIT. Surely this bodes well for our future and proves she’s as smart as she is cute.

Next I need to teach her not to dig-see that mess of dirt behind her?! Also, not to play outside for an hour then come in and do her icky business on the carpet. Not to bound into the house without permission. That there is no need to protect us from kitchen rugs by attacking them viciously. Any tips on dog ownership are welcomed, by the way…


Look at dem berries. We are picking almost that many, every 2 days! They seem to really like chicken manure in the fall and a straw mulch. We are still planning a trip to the local farm to pick more, as this is only enough to keep the 4 of us in fresh eating. Sam doesn’t like strawberries. I was alarmed but that familiar widows peak on his head reassures me. despite this, he is mine.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, knight in shining armor, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to this and that

  1. Anne says:

    The pizza looks FABULOUS!!! I love pizza with garlic, fresh, and tomatoes thrown on after the oven. You should try it. You can never have too much garlic on a pizza. Also those strawberries look simply divine! Why don’t I have a strawberry patch like that? Can’t wait to meet Lucy! I hope she likes our dogs! Oh yeah, and Sam looks a lot like you with the do-rag on his head. He’s yours alright!

  2. Mamaduso says:

    Yummy Pizza and strawberries. I hope to go pick on Friday.Dog training–still working some kinks out on ours. My favorite is using bells to train him to ring to go outside. Once we did that potty training was instant. I got my door bells at Wags. They were about 16.00 I think and worth every penny. It took him all of about 24 hours to get it. My other favorite is to teach him to “wait” so the rest of us can go out the door or in the car without him barging through us. Plus he needs to know he is at the bottom on the totem pole. Now if we can just get him to walk on a leash without yanking my arm off, or going insane when a dog walks by. or a cat or a person or a paper flying in the wind. He has turned out to be a great guard/watch dog, which I didn’t even bank on. Would love to come see Lucy. Maybe we can let the dogs play for a bit.Susan

Leave a Reply

