running

I don’t know how anyone can move without MUSIC. Getting an ipod changed exercise completely for me, and without it I cannot run a step. I love that you can create playlists with specific songs for specific tasks. When making up my “run” list, I needed a strong beat. Being an 80’s kid, I naturally started filling that 2 GB with Def Leppard, Prince, Queen, The Cars, U2, Bruce Springsteen, Van Halen, Pat Benatar, ZZ Top, Bon Jovi and more. I realize my taste in music; and especially my off key belting-out-of-lyrics; is a source of amusement to others. Can’t help it. I know it’s base and shallow and the proof is that I won’t let my children borrow my Ipod for two reasons. One: It’s Mommy’s expensive toy. Two: I don’t want to be asked what “Pour Some Sugar On Me” might mean. Although some songs were offensive enough to eventually delete; others; however secular the lyrics, I kept. That strong beat just keeps me going and the songs remind me of being 17 and strong and free, and who doesn’t need that on mile 4? And in Sister Act style (remember Whoopi Goldberg as the nun?) I started listening for the spiritual within the secular and often found it. (George Michael’s “Father Figure” became such a worship song that it made me cry) But I started searching for some good Christian rock, because Third Day; although still my favorite; was getting a tad monotonous. It wasn’t easy to find fast music with inspiring lyrics! A few months ago I looked all over the Internet, searched Itunes a lot and found these winners. I’ve run to them enough now to recommend them and I hope it helps someone else. They’ve helped change my exercise time into a worship time! You know your heart needs one way more than the other, right?
In no particular order:
Here is Our King David Crowder band (starts slow so it’s a good first song, for warm-up)
Shackles (Praise You) Mary Mary
Sometimes Nicole C. Mullen
Tunnel, I Can Feel It, Come On Back To Me… well-okay most anything, except the “Offerings” cd, by Third Day
Shine Newsboys
Sweetly Broken Jeremy Riddle
God Is With Us Michael Olson (my latest favorite! this can get you up that hill!)
Marvelous Light Charlie Hall
Revolution Starfield
Everything About You Sanctus Real
Frontline Pillar
We Shine Fee

I would love more recommendations! What do you like to listen to when you need inspiration?

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to running

  1. Anonymous says:

    I really like “So Long Self” by Mercy Me. I know you are looking for non-secular stuff. However, have you checked out some of Barry Manilow stuff. He is rockin’ dude!Tink

  2. Anne says:

    Brenda, I really can’t see you ever listening to “Pour Some Sugar On Me.” Did you reeeaaaaally? I’m happy for you that you are running again. I sure wish I could get into that. I’ve just never really liked it! Anyway, hope all is well there!

Leave a Reply

