summer snapshots

At our house four of the five birthdays are in July-Aug-Sept (except me-the weirdo, in March) so this season is about Birthdays! Here is Sam at his Feast, Monday night. He chose garlicky shrimp scampi. ah. sure sign that my little boy is truly becoming a man. (oh and don’t call Protective Services-it’s sparkling grape juice there)

Loving this season. We picked blueberries yesterday at Bear Fruit Farms in Harrisburg-only $1.25 a lb! If you live in the area, I highly recommend them-great fruit, friendly people, clean rows and full, easy to pick bushes. We’ll definitely go back each year. Though we might still have frozen berries NEXT July as I went a little crazy. I kept thinking of the little container I paid $4 for last week. My frugal side kicked in and spurred me on. We ended up picking 30 lbs!!

See, it’s Summer! The green apples on our trees are calling out to the local deer. Last night John tried to get a photo of this Mama doe and her spotted fawn. The other day it was a set of twin fawns (even I, who consider deer to be my personal nemesis, smiled a little at their cuteness) Where is the fierce German Shepherd guard dog you ask? Well she is not yet on duty over the whole property. She’s still a wiggly little pup who spooks at the cat’s raised back. For now we keep her safely in the fenced yard. Happily, her dog-scent alone must be enough because we haven’t had any deer back there eating the roses-hostas-hydrangeas. Last year I feared there would not be a plant left by Sept. With the veggie garden fenced now, and Lucy in the back; the only fodder we have left is the apples. The green, wormy apples that if the deer don’t eat; fall to the ground; rot and then attract hordes of wasps. So I am feeling quite benevolent and generous towards the deer this Summer. Bon appetit! you mangy, opportunistic, tick-ridden yard rats!

We are still learning a bit, though scheduled school is a good month off. This stack of SIXTY FIVE books was just what I pulled out of the Suburban to vacuum the other day. The boys continually take books in there to read for the 20-40 minutes it takes us to drive anywhere. I love that and encourage it. But they never take them out. And eventually there is no room for groceries or that antique mahogany credenza I just know I’ll find at the next garage sale. We put in a plastic milk crate and tried to limit the “car books” to that space. It’s futile. Oh well. I try and remind myself this is a good problem to have…


Best part of summer, bar none? Tomato sandwiches. With fresh basil and olive oil. And enough fresh garlic to make your forehead bead up with sweat. Eat at least one per day because January is coming folks. Bon appetit!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to summer snapshots

  1. fromthenarrows says:

    We haven’t done blueberries yet and i hope i can find some raspberries still since i didn’t get to process my strawberries into jam. Could you send me directions to that farm? Your tomato sandwich looks so yummy.Susan

  2. Alisa Johnston says:

    Blogging to the neglect of your friends, eh? I want a tomato sandwich now. I want to go pick blueberries! Yum!anonymous

  3. Brian says:

    All that tomato sammich needs is some mozzarella cheese.

  4. Anne says:

    Yes, those DELICIOUS tomato sandwiches. Only the really privileged know that yummy burst of flavor with each bite. I am so happy to have had a vegetarian friend with discerning taste buds! Long live this sandwich!

Leave a Reply

