Happy Birthday Josiah!

Yes, he is now 13–a teenager. It doesn’t change much, that unlucky number everyone warns parents about. Still, Josiah is our gentle, thoughtful firstborn child.

However I am painfully aware that he is no longer enjoying the following:

These days that bathroom door is firmly bolted shut when in use. And there is certainly no sharing the tub; nor getting creative with foamy soap. Much less letting Mom in with the camera!
Oh I miss the Pirate Days. He loved this joke and told it 10x a day, to everyone…Q: what does a pirate get on his pizza? A: Pep-Arrr-oni!

He watched Peter Pan over and over and buried treasure in the sandbox. Now He will scowl occasionally but I suspect the”Arrgghh!” is no longer in jest.

(and can I say this, too? I really miss my boys in matching pajamas!)

He used to like sharing the top bunk with Sam, the way Sam now does with Caleb. Why do we even own bunkbeds? We don’t need but one mattress– that bottom bunk is for book and toy storage only. Our boys sleep wrapped around each other like Labrador puppies, with the same spent exhaustion from daily play.

And yet, Josiah is still a superhero. and Sam is still his sidekick…but the costumes and public front yard escapades are long over, I’m afraid. I still see that imagination; but it is expressed now in his love for books by JRR Tolkein and CS Lewis.

(Oh he will kill me for this photo but I can’t resist!) It’s true-he no longer wears his underwear as a hat. Josiah is completely mortified when Caleb acts this way. He flat refuses to believe such embarrassing behavior is normal and I am glad I have the photos. Mr. Reserved And Dignified once engaged in such antics, also. I have more of these, with even less clothing on him! But I am saving those for his wedding slide show…

With Josiah’s height and weight increasing monthly, Daddy can no longer pick up all three boys to proclaim his victory in the (still weekly) tickle fights…

When baby Caleb arrived, Josiah just seemed so mature. I realize with sadness now that he was only four, and that is a baby, also. Though he has always been a “little adult” in personality, I am sure I expected way too much of him. He rose to the occasion, as firstborns tend to do and God uses such things to shape us for our future. Being the oldest of three boys molds him, still and I know he will always define himself as the big brother.

For all these changes, when I go into his room at night? And the moonlight falls across his face? I see the ghost of his preschool self and I’m relieved…

He still looks like an angel when he sleeps.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday Josiah!

  1. Brian says:

    Happy Birthday Josiah! I like the grown up version of you best, but you were a pretty cute little kid.

Leave a Reply

