Why I let my kid have a mohawk.

because Sam loves Indians, I sometimes finish a crewcut about 70% of the way in, then let him have a mohawk for 1-2 days…but only if we aren’t going somewhere! I hate the cut and think it looks both ugly and foolish. I just like my boys like I like my kitchens…clean and tidy.
So why does he have this hair for going-on-5-days-now?

1. because it’s just hair. and it’s not on my head.
2. because man looks on the outside, but the Lord looks on the heart.
3. because it will be a happy memory for him, someday.
4. because he begged. with green eyes:
4. because Daddy said “It fits him. He can keep it.”

5. because Sam’s sweet personality is so far from Rebel Punk that the juxtaposition of THAT hair with THIS boy is just too funny.
6. because childhood is the the safe time for trying on new personalities and exploring interests and acting like a wild Indian, if you so choose.

7. because it’s a wonderful (daily) exercise in “getting over myself”… to be a Mama who bases parenting on something weightier than getting the approval of other parents.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I let my kid have a mohawk.

  1. Alisa Johnston says:

    I LOVE that you let him come to church in it!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Love reason #7 ~Faye

  3. Brian says:

    Be sure & post follow up pics after the Duck game when he gets to paint it green & yellow!

  4. Life With My 3 Boybarians says:

    Amen, mama! *APPLAUSE*

  5. Anonymous says:

    Oh Brenda… I have struggled with Calvins over and over and it always comes back to me knowing what a sweet guy he is.. and like John Sean says.. it just fits him. and though i question it alot when i see a punk on the road i am then convicted on my judgmental heart and the fear of people judging him the same way worries me each time, I then turn back to the Lord and thank him for his view of people and ask to have His eyes for his people. Sam looks GREAT!!! no worries! Love Kelli

Leave a Reply

