hearts of stone

I never meant to collect rocks, at least not rocks that didn’t come to me in little blue boxes from Tiffany’s Jewelers. But John and I were walking by a river once, hand in hand. Then Mr. Not-so-very-romantic bent over to pick up a heart. When he silently handed it to me with his cute little sideways grin?
I became a collector.


They have been outside for years, but the new puppy was far too interested in them and I am fairly sure 1/3 of my collection is now under the deck. So the other day, at my favorite little boutique (Goodwill) I grabbed this big basket. Look! It’s gray! and heart-shaped! Finds like this always make me grin-I think my Father sets these types of treats up, just to spoil me a little…

A few years ago, our budget was very, very tight. John and I agreed not to buy each other anniversary presents. But he dug around in the bathroom cabinet until he found my “toe paint stuff” (nail polish) and marked this large rock with the date of our anniversary, and wrapped it up for me. Even if we had the money? There isn’t a retail gift in 6 counties that I would’ve been more tickled with! My theory is that romantic gestures are kind of like rich chocolate truffles. If my husband was some gooshy load of sweetness? Yes, it would be nice…for a few days. But fairly quickly, I would feel ill. This man keeps me guessing! Just when I get used to his practical meat-and-potatoes-personality he pops up with something unexpected. And it is twice as delicious, for it’s rarity.

This one looks more like a pancreas than a heart; but I know the boy that chose it and love his crooked little smile, so much like his Daddys’. Have you noticed how children learn how to love by watching how their parents do it? That was a problem when our little Sam was almost four years old. His astute observation was that loves means slapping Mama’s hiney and grinning at her, as she rinsed dirty dishes. He was set straight quickly! But as the boys have gotten older, they know what love looks like to their Mom–It’s hugs in the morning. It’s “that was delicious!” at dinner. And when we are outdoors together, there are 4 sets of male eyes watching the ground, looking for a heart for Mama’s collection.

There’s nothing sweeter.

“I (God) will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.” Ezekial 36:26-27

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in knight in shining armor, traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hearts of stone

  1. Anonymous says:

    I too have a heart rock collection!! also started by my love finding me a heart rock!! Lily then found me my first heart shaped drift wood they ae pure treasure each time we find one!

  2. Anonymous says:

    oops LOve Kelli i meant to say as well! :O)

Leave a Reply

