I need a better title than "we’ve been busy"…

but how else to explain a 2 week blog hiatus?
Here’s a post, just for those who’ve been pestering me! But it’s nothing for the archives, see? It’s a few photos with a few sentences attached, a synopsis of the last few weeks based on which pictures happened to be in the camera. I can accurately predict that this post will be short, rambling and half done.
That seems to have become my theme…


Lee and Claudia bought a house, less than 2 miles away! I took this picture on the day they got keys. Aren’t they just so cute?!

The house is only 6 years old but when you walk in your first thought is “oooh. bad kitty!”

The previous owner did not bother herself with house-training her pets. So we have pulled up all the carpets and painted the subfloors with stainblocker. Here Sam helps his Grandma pull carpet staples out. Everyday it smells a little better and we are praying that the odor doesn’t linger!

John and his Dad have been putting in a new subfloor and vinyl in the dining room, kitchen and hall. Carpet gets installed tomorrow in the bedrooms and the house is almost finished! We will sure miss having the grandparents in the driveway, sharing meals and mornings. It’s been wonderful! But they are close enough for us to keep on pestering each other almost daily….

Can you tell by my old jeans what my job has been? My specialty-painting. In fact, I need to finish this up and get over there. Only one room left to do today and then I will have painted every wall and floor in the house, except the main bathroom. Just since Thursday! We have been workin’, I’m telling ya!

Aunt Julie is always surprising the boys with treats! Since they were babies she is always thoughtful, always picking up little goodies. We don’t really celebrate Halloween but these are all American, red-blooded male children here and chocolate can only be improved by looking like bloody eyeballs, skull bones and green zombie fingers.


ZuZu got a new CatBib and is looking quite stylish. Guests always ask about our superhero cat. She wears this to slow down her coordination just long enough to stop her from killing birds and it WORKS. She was killing one a day, bringing them indoors to torture and finally eating them underneath Caleb’s bed. Ewww. Bells, mirrored collars and keeping her indoors didn’t work but the Catbib does. It’s worth looking the cat looking foolish in a cape, if it saves my backyard birds!


After a year? Yeah-her old one was pretty disgusting, as evidenced by Caleb’s expression here.


According to the legend, this should be a mild winter, because the wooly-bear caterpillar has more black then red in his stripes. Apparently this test is WAY more accurate than a groundhog and his shadow, so the boys and I will be watching to see if this old homesteading tip is truth or not!?Thanks Aunt Alayne, for the yummy Yakima apples! We used the Crockpot to cook up a delicious, chunky cinnamon sauce out of the last half box. The boys loved making it as much as they enjoyed eating it.

And everytime I unload the memory card on to the computer I have a couple of these self-portraits, by our youngest goofball, Caleb.

With all that is going on, the boys and I are all trying to recover from a nasty cold virus. Sam and Caleb had eye appointments last week (they can see perfectly-whew!) The dog got spayed. We went to Portland twice. Our week consists of: Bible Study fellowship on Monday nights (we are loving the study of Moses!) John meets with his Mens Group on Tuesdays, and 2 of the boys do Tennis lessons on Wednesdays. We drive for Meals on Wheels and have Science Co-op class each Friday (Can you deduce from that list why Thursday is my favorite day of the week?!)Still plugging away at getting in the schoolwork, laundry and housework each day, though the boys don’t mind at all that we’ve had to eat out more lately…

I say it a lot but it is OH SO TRUE…we are busy but blessed.
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I need a better title than "we’ve been busy"…

  1. Brian says:

    Good to hear from you! I’ve been waiting for anothyer post. I’m tired of seeing the back of my head photo in the last one. Love ya.

  2. Anne says:

    I always WANT to complain when you don’t do a blog entry more regularly, BUT I have to sheepishly deny myself that impulse. I realize that it’s hard to find time to just sit down and write about life. Sadly, if we don’t, we often forget. Thanks for updating us. It’s great to read how you are all doing!

Leave a Reply

