flagstone entry

I finished it! My back aches and there is sand everywhere, but we finally have something between the rock driveway and the front door. I was working like crazy the last few days to get it done! Once those autumn rains really start in, the mud gets tracked everywhere in this little house…Uncle Deacon was kind enough to bring me this pickup load of sand from the Coast (no, he didn’t steal it from the beach, he owns a “Sand Ranch”). John had helped me dig out a 3 inch deep half circle into the driveway, and the sand was the bed, a soft layer between the rock driveway and the flagstones. It goes together like a giant puzzle, only the pieces are huge. and dirty. oh, and those last two pieces I had to use a pick-axe to knock off corners, to fit it together. But I have been known to press hard on the crooked edges of a cardboard puzzle piece when I just wanted to be done…

This is my first patio, and I underestimated three different times on how much rock would be needed. It looked small to me, but then I have no talent in the area of perception. I often put leftovers in 2 or 3 containers before I figure out just how much spaghetti sauce is left and what size tupperware will work. This frailty meant I had to drive into town twice, to buy more stone. The total cost was $81 (unless you add in $20 for gas-whoops) which isn’t bad, considering how nice it looks and how much less I will be mopping.

I had mistakenly assured John that I had enough leftover stone from a previous pond project, and this shouldn’t cost him one thin dime.
John, when you read this post, be assured that I am very grateful for such a generous, forgiving (and did I mention handsome?!) husband…Finished…

The black pots will have big evergreen topiary for Christmas (and THAT decorating madness starts next week. I am fighting the urge to hum Jingle Bells even now. I can’t wait!)
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to flagstone entry

  1. Mamaduso says:

    Looks Lovely! Well done. I’d love to come see all the improvements. I will watch Tate during the first service. My girls will be there for singing so we will too! Meet you in the Fireside room at a few minutes before 9. I drop the girls off at 8:30.Susan

Leave a Reply

