if you can’t stand the heat…

get outta the kitchen! It’s raining. And this is Oregon, so it will be raining until July. That means Nerf gun wars are now moved to indoors. Not because I have sissy boys. They’ve lived in Oregon almost 5 years now and the gills have grown in nicely. No, they tell me that precipitation wreaks havoc on those preciously hoarded spongy Nerf bullets. “Ya gotta keep your ammo DRY, Mom. First rule of warfare. That, and a hard hat for possible artillery fire.”

In this photo it looks like they are fighting the Dyson vacuum but no…For at least 7 years, Caleb and Sam have been overcoming their differences and banding together in solidarity for one purpose. The defeat of a common enemy. A hostile foe that keeps returning to battle, despite being on the brink of adolescence and far too mature for other games…

(though, without any provocation, John will still grab a Nerf and start shooting us all at point blank range. I guess the permission slip for such behavior was signed long, long ago.)
Oh yeah. He’s got a pistol in one hand, the sword in the other.

Just when am I going to get in there to cook a meal? It’s dangerous, I tell ya! We have bullets whizzing past, wounded soldiers screaming, grenades being tossed. There’s no way I can get through that barricade built across the west side…

I surrender.

I’m calling John to bring home pizza for dinner.

I am going to bed early, what with my post traumatic stress disorder and all.
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

