if lovin’ you is wrong

I don’t want to be right.

GREEN BEAN CASSEROLE. oh yeah.
It’s gray-a hue we can agree, that food shouldn’t be.
It has the consistency of fresh vomit.
I don’t like onions in any size bigger than my pinky nail.
So for years I passed this dish around the holiday table with a polite smile but never tasted it. I even mocked it in my ignorance. It was just a kitschy throwback dish, something we served only because we still had elders at the table who remembered it fondly from 1964.
And I don’t remember why I finally tried it a few years ago? Curiosity gets us all, I guess. All I know is that I was promptly kicking myself for years of wasted opportunities. This glop is downright tasty!
All the magazines this time of year have “updated” recipes, promising to replace that “nasty green bean casserole made with (gasp!) condensed soup”
I have seen healthy versions of it around, with lovely fresh beans and a homemade roux and even a non-fried topping. I considered it for oh, about 4 seconds. But I decided hey, it is once a year…
I can indulge.
I choose to admit to unrefined taste buds on the Internet.
I will embrace my inner trailer park.
We are driving to Portland for Thanksgiving tomorrow and there will be 10 of us eating dinner. How many will actually even eat this casserole? Two.
I am so glad my brother was raised as badly as I was, so I can make this “just for Brian”.
He once confessed to me “I could eat it cold for breakfast.”
Hey. There’s no shame in that, brother. You hold your head high!
(what’s YOUR favorite Thanksgiving food?)
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to if lovin’ you is wrong

  1. Mamaduso says:

    Inner trailer park! Love it. I would have to say the stuffing–then the yams with marshmallows on top. Really, the turkey, I take a token piece. It’s not my favorite part of the meal.Susan

  2. Anne says:

    Ugh! I can’t even stomach the thought of that green bean casserole. Ick. I remember the commercials from when I was little…”Don’t drown your foooooooood, in tomato ketchup or goo……” Reminds me of this dish. =) My favorite dishes are the stuffing, jellied cranberry sauce (straight from the can), and pumpkin pie. Thanks for coming and sharing the holiday with us!

Leave a Reply

