kitchen additions

I know its hit or miss with this blog. There is no consistency to the subject matters I write about, because it’s all under the heading “What Brenda Finds Interesting”. And there is no consistency to the frequency of posts-you might get one a day, or you might get nothing. It’s a good thing I am not trying to draw readers with this shotgun approach! I know the faithful friends and family who read this, already “get me” somewhat, and know how it is…But I think a cool name instead of sparrow journey might have been Feast or Famine. This is short today-but here are the latest kitchen projects:


We had leftover beadboard from the front porch remodeling and my Knight with a hammer put it along the back kitchen wall for me. He wanted to put it lower, so he wouldn’t have to mess with the lightswitch boxes but I wanted it higher. The only reason I could give him was “it feels better to me, visually” You know that is not a practical reason to do an hour’s extra work, right? So he bartered with me and I had to go wash Lucy at the new dog-wash shop. I don’t know who was more exhausted that Sat afternoon, John or I? But we both felt that we’d made a fair exchange of services and that we both got something important done…a coat of primer, and 4 coats of white semi-gloss! I tell ya, my wrist was killing me from painting in all those skinny grooves! This wall gets a lot of dings and bumps because it’s the main traffic area for the house. Besides lightening up the room and adding great cottage texture, I think the beadboard will be a good protection against my barbarian children’s comings and goings…

I went to the garage and dug out this old wooden window I have had for 4 years, just waiting for a project. I’m not in love with the wreaths-looking for mini boxwood ones but grapevine will work until I find them. The middle glass is broken so I hung a favorite picture that I mounted on scrapbook paper:I loved my little boys in denim overalls with no shirt. John chalked it up to my redneck DNA but it’s those skinny little bare arms and the sweet little angel-wing shoulder blades surrounded by Osh Kosh blue. Nothing gets me more nostalgic than photos from 2000, When my boys were 5, 3 and 1. I was exhausted most of the time, so I don’t remember that year, except for the pictures!


And last of all, I needed a key-hook. John tosses his in a basket near the door but I need a “spot”. Found this old pie server for 59 cents and left it tarnished. I painted a board white, sanded the edges and added a wall hook to the back. Bent the handle of the spoon around a table edge, (felt like Wonder Woman there for a minute) then I used tiny brad nails to attach it…this is a bad photo (makes the pretty green wall look olive-it’s not) but I was trying to capture the lovely tarnish on the server.
I think we are done with the kitchen. (Though I am looking for old chairs to paint and re-cover so you’ll have to listen to that, eventually)
Next post will be about the rugrats, I promise! I’ll put the pressure on for them to do or say something clever, soon…
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to kitchen additions

  1. Mamaduso says:

    But the round wreath idea looks great there doesn’t it!Susan

  2. Alisa Johnston says:

    It looks GREAT, Brenda! I love it. I would love to see it in person! HINT HINT!

  3. Anne says:

    I have to admit, I was a bit concerned when I saw that beadboard up there in the natural wood stain. I was much, much happier once I saw it white. It makes a lot of visual sense now. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

