thanks Mom!

I am a wee bit famous for finding stuff. Since I am a self-confessed antique/junk lover who frequents yard sales, flea markets and thrift shops, friends often say things like “If you ever come across a *** could you pick one up for me?” and I love to take on that challenge. I even have the habit of looking for things that a friend hasn’t asked for specifically, but I just KNOW that she needs it and/or would love it. I like the hunt, and I like to give.
I get that from my Mom.
When I can’t find something, I give her a call and SHE goes on the hunt, for me. Let it be known that she has NEVER not been able to find the elusive item…
This morning Caleb came running back to my bedroom
“Mom! A man walked up our driveway, bent over by the front door, did SOMETHING to our CAT, then left!” Alarmed myself, I went out to check on Zuzu, who was unharmed and waiting to get inside.
It was a Fed-Ex delivery, I think. Because the UPS guy knows us well, honks his horn, and waits patiently for me to find my shoes. I asked Caleb “Do you think the driver just pet the cat?” and Caleb, relieved, breathed out “Whew!”

My Mom likes her packaging tape. She must purchase it in bulk. The ENTIRE box is wrapped in tape! It works though-we’ve never had a broken or open box. See that steak knife? It is the only way to open her packages.
When we were newly married and always broke, a box from my Mom was this HUGE excitement, it made our month! She tucked every corner full, going through her pantry and drawers to find little things that might bless. So you would have pudding boxes in the corners, a roll of stamps tucked in a shoe, lemonade mix and extra socks, a spare $20 bill taped under the new cookbook that was marked with a note “this was so good, I had to buy us both one!”

I recall once, around 1994, a big box came. It had a picture of a frying pan on it, because my Mom always re-uses boxes. I waited until John got home from work (because he loved her boxes, too!) and we opened it together. I was stunned and shocked. It was the pan! Now it was a beautiful, huge frying pan-brand new from Costco- that I used for years and loved but at that moment? I was so disappointed to get something NEW, with no goodies tucked around it and no little note. That she bought it new, put an address on the box and mailed it straight? It really hit home how much the regular boxes meant. That it wasn’t the STUFF she sent, it was the extra little love, tucked in all the corners. The surprise of an ordinary April Tuesday morning, suddenly turning into Christmas.
I am planning to do the same for my boys and their families, someday. That is, if they are cruel and disobedient enough to live somewhere other than next door to their Dad and I…
I passed up a Magic Bullet blender twice this summer. Once at a yard sale, and again at the Goodwill. It was around $20, both times, and I wasn’t sure I’d use it that much. But lately I have been “improving my choices”, health-wise (Hilary and Anne-how is the scale treating you?!! I am aiming to win that money by summer!) which means having more for breakfast than 2 mugs of French Roast coffee. Did you know they did some study on breakfast eaters, and they had a much higher metabolism? (don’t tell Anne or Hil, OK?!) Now my metabolism is like a tired, stretched out rubber band. Dieting since the age of 12 will do that to a girl-so I am willing to try anything that will fire the old furnace back up! If it doesn’t include hash browns, I’m not a breakfast fan. But I found that I do like protein shakes. They are quick, easy, refreshing. The little mixer I had didn’t chew the ice very well and I hated to dirty up the Vita-Mix for one little ‘ole shake. So I asked Mom to keep an eye out for the Magic Bullet and within weeks, here it is! Aren’t ya jealous?

I made my first shake today, and it was perfect. That little thing just chews up the ice.

My latest concoction (recipe) is Chocolate almond. Get the Designer Whey powder and almond butter, (both are cheapest at Trader Joes) some water, cream, ice, and a raw egg. I’m not worried about salmonella because these eggs are from my own hens. Besides, every time I crack an egg in there I hear the Rocky theme song start up in my head. He drank them straight. I’m not quite there yet. When you see me jogging the courthouse steps with kids chasing me, you’ll know I made it.

So thank you Mom. This post is all for you…thanks for over 20 years of boxes, triple wrapped in clear tape, tucked full of blessing, and sent priority mail from California to Washington and now, Oregon. I know it was sometimes a stretch to your budget to do it. And even though we don’t need the blessing as much as we did in the early years, it still makes my day to get out a steak knife for one of your treats. Today, when I saw your handwriting on that box? I thought of all the love you’ve mailed and just felt really, really grateful for those precious memories. Just know that I will keep this tradition up, that your grandsons will be blessed some day by your example of generosity.

And I am grateful to have received more from your DNA than just these supermodel good looks.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to thanks Mom!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wow…I didn’t know that your Mom had continuesly sent you guys packages. How nice and very thoughtful!I became very interested when you were mentioning the Bullet. I got one a couple of years ago. There was one recipe that I used over and over again. It was so delicious, a smoothie with cranberry juice, blueberries, strawberries, and a flavored frozen yogurt. When I get a chance, I will send you the whole recipe. Thanks for sharing.Sherri

Leave a Reply

