you say it’s your birthday….?

dun-nu-nu-nunu….It’s my birthday too, yeah!

(That is the only line from that song I know. 80’s songs only required 3 lyrics, but still…)

Yesterday I had a perfectly wonderful, super spoiled and loved on kind of day. And that’s exactly how birthdays ought to be. I just don’t get why people my age (ahem. middle aged.) hate their birthdays and moan and groan about getting older and sometimes refuse to even celebrate. They won’t tell you how old they actually are and it’s considered rude to ask? I don’t get that! So ok, I’ll play along…I won’t tell exactly how old I am, but in 3 short years I will turn the big 4-0. So the brighter mathematicians here can figure that out and the rest of you can just ponder the mystery. Caleb pointed out my “eye wrinkles” the other day and I laughed out loud, just adding to the deepening furrows. Doesn’t bother me a bit, because I love laugh lines on people…to me that’s proof of a life well lived.

So I love March 29! When it comes to my special day, I am the oldest 8 year old you ever saw! I grin all day. I clap before opening a gift and cry over the sentiments on the cards and say yes to seconds on dessert. I want candles to blow out and everyone to sing the classic birthday song loudly and off key!

I firmly believe that we all need this one day a year a day to be reminded that we are loved.
A whole pickin day set aside to just revel in the fact that we are alive and it is a gift.
Not to mention, a day to eat cheesecake without any guilt.

I make sure my and husband and kids get the Full Gold Star Treatment on their special days and so I happily sit back and enjoy every bit of my OWN 24 hour lovefest.

so here’s the play-by-play:
We went to early service at church. Love having a Sunday birthday! I taught Sunday school a few times this month, which I love doing, but it sure felt good to be back in the service! Great sermon that really blessed, right where I’m at, and rocking worship music…I just floated out of there, happy. We all (including Lee and Claudia-its so great!-I had really missed the big family birthdays we used to have in Yakima) went to a kitchen store and then a bookstore while we waited for Outback Steakhouse to open up for us. Then I ordered a big ole steak and my first wedge salad. loved that…I swear that salad was as good as the steak, which was pretty darn close to perfect. That cow died happy, I could tell. It was weird/sad that we now have only one child still young enough to order off the kids menu, and that added up. John stated that this was a new record for “the most we have EVER spent on a lunch.” but he declared that I was worth it. Love his generous heart.
Then we came home and Claudia and I went off to buy flowers. Yippee!

How thoughtful was God to make sure my birthday landed in early Spring?! JUST when I would need plant money? He cares about details like this, I know. So I splurged and along with the plants I bought a cedar Adirondack bench, and John built it for me immediately. And I painted it bright blue, immediately. Yup, I spent my birthday digging in dirt and holding a paintbrush. My two favorite things. And I didn’t sweep the floor or cook a meal or fold any laundry.
I’m saying it just couldn’t have been a better day. Now I only have to wait 364 days til the next one.

John ought to have Outback paid off, by then…

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in me me me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to you say it’s your birthday….?

  1. ~Chris says:

    Happy Birthday Brenda! I love how your happiness makes others happy too!Glad it was a good one for you 🙂

  2. Rebeca says:

    Sounds like a lovely day! Happy birthday week, and many years to you! Rebeca

  3. Alisa Johnston says:

    You deserved the very best birthday ever!! So glad you got to play in the dirt and paint!Glad it was a good day for you!

  4. Brian says:

    Seriously… a blue bench? I give it two weeks before you come to your senses and admit that your getting a little befuddled in your old age and paint that thing back to a normal color. Happy Birthday old lady!

  5. Anne says:

    Don’t listen to Brian. That blue will look perfectly at home in your yard. Glad you had such a great birthday! I’m with you! I think people should be spoiled on their birthdays. The day someone was born should be celebrated extravagantly and memorable to them throughout their lives. You do a great job of that! Wish we could have celebrated with you! Bless you and many more happy birthdays are wished for you!

Leave a Reply

