if they’d only slow down…

so my heart could catch up!

The marks on the wall show the inches our boys have shot up, just since Christmas. Yesterday we had to go buy new shoes for Josiah and Caleb, though it’s been only four short months since the last footwear purchase. Sam’s shoes aren’t tight just yet, so he can hold off another month until it is warm enough out to get a pair of his favorite Summer shoes, Crocs. Preferably in a Camo pattern.
But here’s the shocker, for when I took Josiah’s new shoes out of the box this morning I just sat and stared at them in awe. I set the can of pop there in the photo, to try and capture the scale of these supersized monster shoes.
Josiah is now 5 foot 4 and-a-half, just a smidge taller than me. But his feet are stretching out, getting ready for the next few years race upwards. Turns out he now wears a mens, size 11. This means his feet are now a 1/2 size bigger than his 6 foot 2 inch Dad!?Someone please explain it to me. I just don’t understand. For how can it be possible that this child once grew inside my body, kicking at my ribs with these same toes?
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

