he’s tough.

(photo of Sam, from a few months ago) We are walking into Target, and the sky is starting to spit cold rain. I notice Sam doesn’t have a coat. Oregon’s temperamental weather was sunny and warm an hour before, and he had hopped in the car without a jacket. I reminded Sam that he always needs to bring a coat, and decide to buy him a cheap sweatshirt in the store. He kindly protests, knowing it was his mistake and not wanting me to “waste” the money. I said “It’s my job to keep you from getting pneumonia, buddy. That would cost us a lot more than a $7.00 sweatshirt.” Sam loves reading books about living in the Arctic alone, of heroes who won battles with odds of 70 to 1, stories of WW2 escapes, Underground Railroad, and handbooks on backwoods survival techniques. He thinks a minute and confidently pronounces:

“Mom? People far less tough than I,
have endured much worse.”
that’s my new motto. I’m pulling it up when we run out of French Roast beans. Chanting it to myself on mile 9 of training, whispering it as my comfort while cleaning up cat barf, again.
Feel free to use it, as needed, in your own life…!
man, I love that kid.
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

