building together.

Caleb asked me for a box. I offered a shoebox, a cigar box…not quite right. So he drew out a plan for the perfect box and showed us what he was thinking of. His Dad looked this design over and said “I could make that for you. Do you want to help me?”

We interpreted his delighted shrieks as a “yes“. The next night, they were out in the shop together…John had some spare plywood and did the sawing, and set Caleb to work as a sander. Caleb was VERY serious about his job and carefully sanded all the edges while chattering happily at his Daddy. All children spell Love “t-i-m-e“, but Caleb? You could say that he spells it in CAPITOL letters. His Dad wasn’t just making him a nice box out of scrap wood.
He was filling his sons love bucket, to over flowing.

It has a top tray for small pieces and a large area underneath for Lego baseplates.
He set right to work filling it up, organizing and arranging things “just right”.

I’ve made a few foolish choices in my life but one thing is clear…

I sure picked a good Daddy for my kids!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in knight in shining armor, son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to building together.

  1. Anne says:

    NICE box! Truly, I was impressed. It looks like Brian’s printer’s drawer, at least the top part.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I was thinking the same thing. John is a great Daddy to the boys. He has grown into a remarkable man. Not selfish at all, instead he’s thoughtful, loving and shows alot of patience. He values his kids feelings and interests. Recently, I’ve seen that not all Fathers take time for their kids in encouraging, loving, or praising their children in their accomplishments. So, John is truly a wonderful example of what a Father should be. I am so proud of him!Sherri

Leave a Reply

