what have I gotten myself into now?!

If you are in my email address book, you recieved this letter today…if not, and you know me well enough to be reading this silly old blog? Well then why don’t I have your email address?!! Come on, write me a note already!

Hello all!
As many of you know, I walked in my 3rd half-marathon this last weekend. The blisters aren’t even healed yet and my shins are still throbbing, yet I am crazy enough to have decided that, in five short months, I want to RUN one. I might guess at what you could be thinking at this point
“Hmmm. I love her, but last I noticed, Brenda was a slightly plump, middle-aged housewife. When did she decide to become an athlete?!”
Well, call it a mid-life crisis, or call it fulfilling a dream, but I am going for it. I am all signed up to RUN in the Nike womens Half-Marathon, in San Francisco, CA., this October. Where do you come in? Well, in order to motivate myself to follow through on this (oh-so-long-held) goal, I decided to punish myself for a great cause…

I am raising funds for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) as a participant in their Team In Training program and I’m asking you to help by making a donation to my fundraising campaign. I know times are tight, and all of us are watching our pennies, but I can assure you this is an incredible cause. (and 100% of your gift goes to LLS. I’m not skimming off the top, even a smidge! haha) Even just giving $5 or $10 would make a big difference!
But feel free to exceed my low expectations, too…!

Please use the link in this email to donate online quickly and securely plus learn more about my progress. I’ll be posting my aches and pains often, and probably cursing the day I made such a passionate, rash decision. Bookmark the site, so you can read it on a bad day and feel better about your own thoughtful, careful decision making…
You will receive a confirmation of your donation by email and I will be notified as soon as you make your donation. You can just picture me squealing at John and being all excited to see just who really loves me and who doesn’t. (Just kidding, of course there is no pressure. But you do want to stay on the Christmas card list, don’t you?!)

http://pages.teamintraining.org/or/nikesf09/bkraft

Each donation helps accelerate finding a cure for leukemia, lymphoma and myeloma. More than 823,000 Americans are battling these blood cancers. I keep thinking of the many Scriptures that state “the Life is in the blood” How terrible to have death (cancer) in the blood! As hard as it will be for this non-athletic Mom to run 13.1 miles straight? It’s nothing compared to what these patients go through, everyday. I am hoping that my participation in Team In Training will help bring them hope and support.

On behalf of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, thank you very much for your support. On behalf of Mothers in Mid-life Crisises everywhere, thank you for your support. I greatly appreciate your generosity.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in exercise, me me me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

