Summer is here!

Everything is growing fast in the garden and watering is needed daily. John has promised that this is the year he will put in a modern irrigation to replace our old fashioned system. The one which consists of me, with a hose, walking around for hours…The roses are starting to bloom! No stuffy hybrid tea roses in our yard, thank you very much. I like my roses all “Grandma style”…fat and flouncy, with a strong, almost overbearingly sweet fragrance.
(I am quite tempted to make a reference to drooping petals but at least two Grandmas read this blog, so I will resist that urge.)

Lucy is tied up in the pasture now, so we have our patio back. We all love to eat dinner outside-now, THAT feels like Summer to me. Grilled meat and lots of veggies-perfect.
John is the best BBQ Chef. No matter what slab of meat I hand him (even the bargain cuts!) he cooks it perfectly, always moist. I don’t know how he does it!? But I am grateful…the few times he worked late, and I tried to BBQ? The kids couldn’t tell what was chicken and what was charcoal briquette.

look at those grins…when Dad is cooking, we’re all blessed!I grew quickly tired of the yard hens having free reign-they were too happy, eating my plants. Deer, slugs and chickens all eat hosta like it is delicious. I am growing quite curious to see if it IS? Do the creatures know something we don’t about hostas?
Anyway, I told the boys to “Build me a fence or something to keep these 2 hens penned up for a month or two.” Josiah was a little panicked when my only direction was “You boys are smart. I trust that you can figure it out” But he and Sam spent the afternoon, gathering up wire and a ladder and all the zip-ties we owned, and getting those chickens enclosed. Every few days they escape and the boys set to work again, plugging the holes and modifying their design. I am proud of my boys, and quite happy to still be getting our 2 eggs a day in our fancy roost box.
(Yes. It’s a cat litter box. What? it works!) Summer is coming for sure when you have to quickly pick all the lettuce and eat ginormous salads for three days, before it bolts and turns bitter in the heat. I heartily recommend “Red Sails” variety. Delicious.And it’s also a sign of the new season when we have the fans up in the windows at night, to cool the house down. Since we are now eating on the patio, the dining room chairs are free for little boys to build elaborate forts in the living room. They were so thrilled to sleep out there last night, and this was the scene when I tiptoed in this morning…sweet Sam all curled up, with Caleb right behind him (though you can’t see him under the denim quilt) Why was I up so early, you ask? I was off to run with my Team In Training at 8 AM. We doubled our mileage, so it was 6 miles today and I RAN THE WHOLE WAY. My longest run, yet. Woo-hoo!

The poppies are blooming! One of my favorite self-seeders. I never deadhead poppies, and let them blow freely all over the yard. There isn’t a corner that isn’t prettier with a poppy in it.
Look how clever my husband is! We spent a Saturday cleaning the garage (another sign of Summer, that annual tradition) and he came up with this perfect design to store Mom’s Old Town canoe (that she has lent us for the last few years-thanks again Mom!) He rigged pulleys and boards and made it so you could pull the Suburban right in to the garage, then lower the canoe on to its top! We are certain we will actually use the canoe more this way…before it was tucked behind everything else in the garage, and so bulky and heavy to get up on top of the SUV. We’ll be on the lake, soon and I can’t wait.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer is here!

  1. Amy says:

    So funny you mention Hostas, the snails are devouring mine! And we’re growing Red Sails too! Yum!

  2. Susan says:

    I love poppies! Thanks for helping me get my tomatoes in the pots. I feel better now…that despite where I will be come harvest, I will have some tomatoes to pick and eat.

Leave a Reply

