fundraising

This post is to ask for your comments, ideas, emails and phone calls…normally I ignore sound advice and avoid good counsel for the sheer joy of making my own wild mistakes. But I make exceptions in times of great stress and confusion (See: marriage counseling circa 1995)
Raising over $3,000 bucks in 2 months? Confusion.
Running 4-6 miles EVERYDAY? Stress.
You see, all my blood is going to my lower extremities and there is very little available to power the old cranium. By Autumn, I won’t know my name. But I should have thinner thighs. I’m thinking that’s a fair trade.

The last fundraiser I participated in, I was incredibly successful! Circa 1981, they had all the students selling chocolate almonds for their elementary school. I was the top seller and earned a lovely paper certificate that was the envy of all my 4th grade peeps. I did this by placing two full cases of candy on the desk of my Dads Real Estate office. Chocolate covered almonds were his FAVORITE and quickly became his breakfast-lunch and dinner choice, plus he handed them out to all his clients and co-workers like it was, well, free candy. Within 3 weeks? My poor Dad was grasping his chest a little when I added up his debt. I never sold a box. Never went door-to-door. Didn’t lift a finger. And out-sold the whole class! Now, that’s the kind of fundraising I hope to do again, and those are the kind of brilliant “work smarter, not harder” ideas I welcome from you all.
Here are my initial ideas and feel free to tell me which you think are worth exploring:

1. A big old yard sale. We already have a bunch of extra junk in a “sale pending” area of our garage. Anne presented the brilliant idea of others donating their discards to the cause and us having a HUGE sale, and donating the proceeds to LLS. Love that! I can dig through every ones treasures, keep my favorites and sell the extras. (Just kidding. Kind of. I mean, I can’t make any promises.) So, give me a call instead of going to the Goodwill-I will pick up your donation and will refrain from making jokes about what you donated, if you politely pretend not to notice when you see me wearing your ratty old sweater in public. Deal?

2. A private bake sale. Have I ever mentioned my marriage-saving french apple pie? It could save your marriage, too. It has powers like that. How much would you pay? $5? $10? What is your marriage worth to you?
Let me tell you, I have been through a little counseling and pie is much, much better.
Pie doesn’t float your boat, or you are single, or hey, maybe you like your spouse giving you the silent treatment? I won’t judge. Perhaps John’s Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies can tempt you. Would you like to taste the cookie that made John’s boss in Yakima trade him NFL football tickets for a mere 2 dozen? I will happily sell my husbands services to anyone with a few spare bucks! Or how about a Marbled Cheesecake with a brownie crust? I make lemon bars with my Mothers recipe. Molten lava cakes. Blackberry pie. Molasses cookies that are as big as your fist and so soft and chewy you can bend them 180 degrees. If it was baked by a farm wife in the 1940s? I can do that!
I am only an adequate cook but to pull the-compliments-I-need-to-justify-my-existence out of Silent John? Well, the way to a mans heart is through his stomach and I have spent 20 years becoming a fairly excellent baker. (This may also help explain why by my late 30s I had to take up running as a hobby.)
The point: Tell me what you are craving and what you will pay and I will be in that kitchen faster than you can get to the ATM.

3. Renting out my boys as household help. Do your clothes get folded too tightly? These kids can wad them in a ball and throw them under your bed, for cheap. Is life too quiet? Do you miss stepping on Legos at midnight? Would dirty underwear on the coffee table make you smile? Well, if you need toothpaste smeared all over your bathroom counter, milky cereal bowls left on tables, books strewn about and french fries left to harden all over your vehicle? Do you have too much food in your pantry and want to empty those shelves of every carbohydrate?
Well, have I got the solution to your dilemma. 13, 11 and 9 year old males are notorious for such things, and my sons are Masters.

I need your ideas, folks! I am afraid that only #1 and #2 will be at all marketable.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to fundraising

  1. Susan says:

    you are good with paint and decoupage—why not create something artsie for the garden to add to your sale? That way you can add the word 'craft' to your garage sale sign.

  2. Neil Johnston says:

    We would pay for #3 while you do #1 & #2. Seriously… we need more testosterone at our house. Just ask Isaac!Is there a multi-day discount? We also don't have a coffee table. Are these guys flexible?

  3. Alisa Johnston says:

    Ummm…does John know about this: "I will happily sell my husbands services to anyone with a few spare bucks!"I think I can donate to your garage sale!

  4. Brian says:

    Anne & I are working some ideas of our own. I'll keep you posted on those. I think the HUGE yard sale has serious money making potential and If you don't tell Anne where it all came from, I will bring you a garage full of stuff & things.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I really think you need to bring your things HERE to Portland as I feel we are in a much more local place where more people can come by to give us money. =) People always stop at "multi-family" sales. What do you think of that?Anne

  6. Renea says:

    we could put out the word for your yard sale on face book. Since you are way out there people would be aware. If i have anything of value I will send it your way. Do you want people to bake items to sale also?

  7. Renea says:

    I meant to SELL.

  8. Susan says:

    I'm thinking about buying some front yard landscaping plans–what do you think? I pay for a certain amount of hours from you to plan out the plants and such for our new front yard. I'm so bad with that, but I know what I like. I can tell you the look I'm going for. We sign tomorrow and close on Friday. Things are moving right along finally. Maybe by the first or second week in August we can put a plan in place?

Leave a Reply

