Happy Birthday to Sam!


Grandma and Grampa bought him the Nerf bow and arrow set he had longed for! Sam felt it was the perfect item for “shooting at enemies from the treehouse!”

Dad set the precedent of betrayal, by ordering a Market of Choice cake for HIS birthday. Sam was going to remain true to Mom, but I reassured him that it was okay with me if he got Costco’s layered chocolate cake. I pulled the knife out of my back and hid my tears of pain and rejection. I may stop baking for these people, all together. That will teach them! (grin)

Sam wanted Mom’s homemade Alfredo sauce (all is forgiven over the cake because he says the sauce is better than Olive Garden! On 3rd helpings, he decides to make a “pasta sandwich” out of his roll. Watching Sam eat is fascinating. We don’t know where he puts it, and how one boy can consume such vast quantities of food…

Grandpa Lee’s birthday is the next day! So we celebrated his life, too. It is still a treat to have the grandparents so close to share in these life moments.

Sam really, REALLY wants to see the Transformers and G.I. Joe movies coming out this Summer. We are doubtful that will happen, but John will preview and decide. It is so frustrating that the the “cool” Superhero movies get marketed to children (with toys at McDonalds, on school supplies and t shirts!) yet have all kinds of adult sensuality and curse words that aren’t fit for adults, much less my kids!! (Sorry-mini rant there. To my point…)
So, Monday night I was out shopping for gifts for my 12-years-old-oh-how-can-this-be-already? Samuel Nicolas. We’ve been through this movie issue before and he knows that, while the show might not be appropriate, he can still enjoy the comics, the toys and maybe a fun t-shirt. We buy almost all our clothing at thrift stores, so a new-retail shirt, even if it is just a $10 tee, is a big deal. I am looking for a cool t-shirt that Sam will love and suddenly I am crying in Walmart.
This happens frequently, as their customer service and long lines are maddening, but these aren’t tears of frustration, this time. I am in the boys section and realize that the last few months of growth means nothing here will fit my boy, any longer. It doesn’t matter that his innocent child heart still likes cartoon pajamas and Star Wars t-shirts. His growing adolescent body demands that I now cross the aisle to the -gasp!- Men’s section. Luckily, since men in our culture cling to pubescence well into their thirties, there is still plenty of comic book t shirts to choose from over there. I found a size Small (at least, that small comfort!)and thought to myself, hmmm. Two out of three of my babies are now buying adult clothing. I feed them daily, buy the expensive vitamins for them, gave up the vodka during most of pregnancy, (kidding!)all for this-so they could grow up strong and healthy. That it happened? This should make me rejoice, not weep.
When Sam opened his gift and saw the shirt he was ecstatic.
When I told him it was from the Mens section?
He was over-the-top thrilled.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in son-shine, traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

