the surprise

Sorry! I kind of left you hanging there, didn’t I?! Several people have asked “So WHAT was John’s big surprise for your weekend away?” and it was this:


John rented a Chrysler 300srt to drive us up and down the coast with. Now everyone knows I don’t care one fig about automobiles. I can drive any old clunker and don’t notice types/styles of cars, at all (unlike my Mom, who can give you not just the make but the model and year of almost every car we pass!) My noticing of autos is limited to “Oooh, that is one ugly (or pretty) color.”

I am of the minority opinion in our society in that I think it’s quite ridiculous how much we pay, and preen over, a pile of metal and wire whose only purpose is to get you from place to place. Who cares what it looks like, if it runs?!

(and the interior of my vehicles attests to how firmly I hold this belief. Seriously. You could carbon date the chicken nuggets under the seats. If carbon dating was accurate, which it’s not. But that is a rant for another day…)

So John was sweet and apologized, saying that this treat was kind of for himself, too. But let me tell you, that was one NICE car. It just about converted me. Sleek, black and fast. When John opened up the sunroof and we settled into those plush leather seats? I admitted, yeah…okay. Maybe some cars are worth a little bit of adoration. Just a little bit.
I mean, I would definitely eat my chicken nuggets more carefully, in there.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in knight in shining armor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

