Sunday miles.

Last night I was scheduled to run just 5 miles (I know. It still seems crazy that I now think JUST 5 MILES!) but I felt strong and was ACTUALLY ENJOYING THE RUN, so I took the long route home and ran 7 and a half miles. By choice!

That is so new, folks. I have spent the last few months forcing myself to be faithful to the training. Just doing it because I made a commitment. I have faced every long run like that dreaded dentist appointment, where I think “fine. let’s just get this necessary horror over with as quickly as possible”.
I have had joy-when I was finally finished.
I have had joy on Friday and Sunday, when I know no run is due.
I have had joy when I imagined the day AFTER the marathon, when I can burn my Asics and never, ever run again.
But joy in the run? That elusive runner’s high? No. I would say that 257 of the above miles were just plain misery.
But it’s starting to turn…!

I was running so long last night, that the sun was almost set, brilliant pink against black pine trees. John was pulling out of the driveway to come find me on the road when I reached home. I came into the kitchen sweaty and grinning and trying to express to him, the way I was feeling. Words couldn’t do it and he was puzzled over my tears. It was just the great relief and utter amazement I have over HOW GOOD I FEEL NOW.
I am so grateful for this thyroid medication. It took 5 weeks to kick in, but I am finally getting stronger. I feel this deep gratitude for life, and am overjoyed to have energy and enthusiasm back. It’s been a long Summer of feeling exhausted, confused and sick. I am looking forward to the marathon and sure that running will still be a part of my daily life, when this is all over.

weekly miles: 20.02
total mileage: 274.87 (to Portland. and then back!)

Inspiration Scripture of the week:

“I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me, and I in him, he bears much fruit;
for apart from Me you can do nothing.”
John 15:5

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday miles.

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am so proud of you and the commitment that you have made towards your marathon. Its awesom that you are beginning to have fun with it too! How far are you on your donations towards the trip? Thinking of ya.Sherri

  2. Alisa Johnston says:

    Wow!!! Way to go!! You inspire me! Way to remain in Jesus! And way to run like a crazy woman!Proud to call you friend.

  3. Brian says:

    Cool. I've been waiting for a post like this. You're finaly being rewarded for you faithfulness & perserverance. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

