school sayings

Homeschooling is similar to being firm and consistent in discipline.
And not just because both involve wailing tears, but because, in both instances:

1. The administration is harder on the parent than the child

2. It’s something the child dislikes now, but hopefully comes to appreciate, as an adult.

The boys have occasionally complained about school, not realizing how good they have it. I try to make our learning interesting and fun, but I choose not to take it personally when the work of academics wears on them. I took a knitting class last month and had a three week reminder of just how difficult it is to learn something new!

(yes, Brian. I am learning to knit. My inner Granny, after years of struggle to keep her down, has triumphed and is finally taking over…soon I’ll be wearing support hose and bifocals on a chain…)

So when the students moan with a brain cramp, I am compassionate… but still, all this long work of researching curriculum and preparing lesson plans and teaching Roman numerals when you would rather be painting-gardening-even scrubbing toilets and then the ungrateful little turds give you nothing but complaints?

I am saying that some days it wears on me, just an eensy teensy little bit. Not much! Just enough to go into the bathroom and scream a short burst or two. Then, I come out and smile tightly and say, for the 23rd time “So, sweetheart, V means 5 and X means ten. See?”

That is why, today, when I had TWO positive reactions–yes, two compliments–from two different children?
Well, I was so grateful that I hugged my sweet-faced, darling angels (no longer ungrateful turds, you see) and then dismissed them to recess and got right on here, to brag about it!

Josiah has always been less whiny about schoolwork, because his personality enjoys the academics more. Also, he is a thoughtful child, so he was the first one to tell me (and on the very first day of school) that he liked the “new plan” and thought it would be a great year and I was doing a good job and he was really glad to be homeschooled. (I just love that kid!)

His brothers took a little longer, but LOOK how they are coming around:

Caleb said “Thanks for the art lesson, Mom… now I know why my pictures are all so FLAT. I am going to use perspective a LOT in my books!”

(He’s talking about his hobby, of writing and illustrating books)

Sam said “I really like how school is all orderly now. And how we put all our papers in the notebooks so we can look at it later, and remember the cool stuff we are learning.”

(If you want to know how school is going and what the kids are learning, feel free to ask them to show you their notebooks!)

Ah, yes. Days like this? I love the journey we are on and all the time and expense is absolutely worth it. Since I purposely blog to capture the sweet moments in life, I probably won’t get on here and make a long post listing the coming commentary of

“Why this, again?” and

“I can’t learn this, it’s too hard” and

“I hatehatehate Math and wish I were dead”

that is BOUND to come up sometime this year. So, let me just savor this moment.
I know it won’t last and the next “thank you” may come when the youngest is 34 years old. And if you hear a loud screech coming from the west, about 10 AM some Tuesday morning? We’ll, you’ll just know, won’t you, what caused that sound!?

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in skoolin'. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to school sayings

  1. Rebeca says:

    It's good you're increasing the skills needed for important hobbies like writing and illustrating books. Peregrine informed me the other day that he's going to write the 8th Chronicle of Narnia and C.S. Lewis can't stop him because he's dead in the grave. So, if he needs an illustrator, maybe Caleb would consider the job…

  2. Brian says:

    Hey Grandma. Nice job skoolin the youngins'.When I got bored or frustrated, I just skipped class. What do you mean X means 10?

Leave a Reply

