Caleb’s birthday

If our Caleb promised your son that he was invited to Disneyland, or a big party with live Star Wars characters, or a sleepover with fireworks and a marching band? Gently explain to your little angel that his buddy Caleb truly loves him, but has a flair for the dramatic. This will give you a chance to explain what the difference between “exaggeration” and “colorful storytelling” is, to your child. (and if you figure it out, email me the answer. because we know Caleb doesn’t get this gift from JOHN.)

So, funds are a little tight and we bypassed the big kid party to do a fun family day. It must have been okay because Caleb kept saying “This is the best birthday EVER! Thanks Mom!” and here’s the key, if you can’t do the marching band:
Try to say YES to everything you normally have to say “Sorry. Not now.” to.
“Can we do something FUN?” YES-John took the afternoon off and took his little men bowling. “Can we ignore school?” YES.
“Can I do my chores tomorrow?” YES.
“Can I play the Wii, even though it’s not Saturday?” YES
“Can I get Captain Crunch for breakfast?” YES
Caleb even requested a “birthday stocking” (!) YES- I stuck 3 little gifts in one of my big ole fleece socks and he was happy.
And, as always, the birthday person gets to choose ANYTHING they desire for dinner, and Caleb’s dinner choices were:

peanut butter chicken

(he likes pulling meat off jagged wooden skewers with his teeth)

corn on the cob
(hoping to take out a very wiggly tooth)

watermelon
(but its out of season now, so he had canned pears instead-his second favorite fruit)

Ore-Ida steak Fries with Red Robin seasoning
(also referred to as “Grandma’s Fries! Mom, I don’t know why but hers are WAY better than yours!” so Claudia brought them-thanks!)
and sparkling grape juice, in wineglasses.
(Don’t ask me how he knows how to hold a glass from the stem so expertly! Must be those Looney Tunes shows all the kids are watching today!?)

and a gluten-free cake, made into a LEGO head. I don’t know what, exactly, “Lego Universe” means-it is something the company is coming out with in 2010, that Caleb is really excited about so he wanted it to say that, across at the top. Because I don’t have to know why it pleases him-as long as it does, because birthdays are the chance to say YES all day. (Unless it’s Disneyland and fireworks. but you know if $ weren’t an issue, that would be a yes, too!)

Did you notice I didn’t cry or fuss or point out even once, that NONE of my children are single digit ages anymore? You see how I am finally accepting that and not pouting about my Mommy days slipping through my hands too quickly!? I am okay with the fact that every boy in this house is closer to adulthood now, than they are to infancy. Yes, I have accepted the plain truth that their childhoods are more than half over! So never fear, dear readers– I am determined not to let this blog become one long, tired cliche about Moms who can’t let go.

See, (sniff) I’m all better!

(where’s that wine glass?)

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caleb’s birthday

  1. Rebeca says:

    I think he and Peregrine could really change the world together… you should hear all the fantastic birthday plans that boy is coming up with. (You can imagine, I'm sure!) Happy birthday to Caleb!

Leave a Reply

