off to San Francisco!

Today: Packing. Cleaning. Trying not to be anxious! We fly out of Portland Friday morning and will be back very late, Monday night.


The last five months, by the numbers:

miles run in training? over 340

total amount raised to fight cancer? $3,226.55

how many blisters? 7

pairs of Asics tennis shoes I’ve run through? 2

Advil pills and ice packs? immeasurable

My race shirt is ready, and I’ve run in it twice to make sure it’s not “a chafer” and it’s passed muster. The race starts at 7 AM on Sunday, and if God reminds you of me, I’d appreciate the prayer support!? If you don’t wake up until after 8, it’s okay Lazybones, you can pray for me then. There is a killer hill at Mile 6.5 and I should be huffing my way up it about the time you are looking for the Sunday comics and pouring that first cup of Joe. I am hoping to finish the race in under 2.5 hours, (depending on how bad those SF hills hurt!) By 10 AM I should be victoriously collecting my Tiffany’s necklace, crying snot all over John’s shoulder, and hucking off my shoes to wade out into the Pacific Ocean for the ultimate ice bath recovery…

( sign was an encouraging gift from my friend, Heather)
It’s been a long journey, and I have learned and grown in ways I didn’t expect to, when I started.
Thanks to everyone for all the support and love you’ve shown me as I reached for this little dream. I couldn’t have done it alone…
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in exercise, outings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to off to San Francisco!

  1. Susan says:

    Praying for you Brenda! You've done an amazing job. Way to go!!!

  2. Rebeca says:

    Wow! It's here! I hope it goes very well… you've worked so hard for this.

  3. Sherri says:

    Good luck Brenda and enjoy!Your hard work will pay off.I am proud of you!

  4. Anne says:

    Good luck Brenda! Hope you do well on the "8th mile barrier"! Love you!

  5. Brian says:

    Let us know how many Turnipheads you end up passing! Good luck, that swim in the ocean is going to feel great!

  6. Heather says:

    Go for it Brenda! I'm so proud of you for persevering. Have a wonderful time in SF!

Leave a Reply

