fishing for a compliment

We cannot wait for Brian and Anne to move closer. (Next year, we are praying?!) Because how great is it that I enjoy my sister-in-love and we can chat, scrapbook and yardsale together for hours? And how great it is that my brother and my husband have always genuinely liked each other? It helps a lot that Brian shares strong interest in John’s Trifecta:

poker
football
and fishing. They’ve gone on over ten fishing trips where they came back with Nada. (and no, that is not the name of some rare trout.) Here you can see how they are studying the pictures from the Internet to see exactly what kind of fish they had. I won’t say how things turned out, you’ll have to ask John about these little details. All I can say is that the fish was dead before they knew anything for certain and we may or may not be criminals and poaching is a method of cooking in water and I am standing by my man, outlaw in rubber waders though he may be…
Get out the butter and lemon-we got salmon, baby!
(soda can to show scale. We don’t have Dr. Pepper cans littering the driveway. Unless Uncle Tommy is visiting.)

Caity jumps in while I took a few pictures to capture the event/miracle:(You don’t think Fish and Wildlife officers read strangers blogs on the Internet, do you?)

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to fishing for a compliment

  1. Anne says:

    I'm just going to say that if there's a BIG reward on your husband's and my husband's heads, I might be tempted to turn them in. Otherwise, I'm with you on this one.

  2. Anonymous says:

    NO reward!! These were definately legal chinook!! John

Leave a Reply

