new Christmas pillows

Linking up with DIY day with Kimba:

http://asoftplace.net/2009/11/diy-day-with-the-north-pole-secretary/

‘Tis the season for crafting…so I’ll be posting a few of my little projects this month)

I wanted new holiday pillows but I didn’t want to spend much of our limited time and money. This is what I came up with. They are simple, easy (10 minutes), and cheap ($5.50 each) and festive…feel free to copy the basic idea and tweak it to your color scheme/style.

The first part is the hardest. You have to go to Walmart. Sorry to send you to THAT place during the Christmas season! but if you know somewhere else you can get a red twill pillow for $5, go there. I can’t even find thrift store pillows that cheap! I looked at making the pillows but by the time you add up fabric, foam insert, and binding? It costs over $12! So to Walmart we go for Red Twill Pillows…

Then to Dollar Tree. Hey, you’ve already been to Walmart-don’t get fussy.

They have these thick felt snowflakes, 2 for $1. (They also have ornament and tree shapes in red and green-I like the snowflakes because they represent my flaky family well)

I had this, but if you need to buy it-it’s at Walmart too, around $3. It glues fabric REALLY well and is great for projects that are difficult to sew (or saggy hem rescues on the way out the door to church. just sayin’)

Spread the glue on the back of the flake liberally, and slap it on the pillow. Warn the kids not to touch it for 24 hours til it dries. Wa-la! Done!



I liked it so much I did the opposite on the other side of the room! Then He-Who-Is-Twelve-and-Male ruined the festive mood by screeching “Cool! Bloody snowflakes!”



Merry Christmas.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to new Christmas pillows

  1. Alisa Johnston says:

    I love these! Especially the red pillows with the white flakes…those are my favorite!You are so creative…Your prose friend…

  2. Gay Vaughan says:

    Now, these are cool! I bought the snowflakes, trees and ornaments because I thought they were just too neat to pass up…but hadn't found a purpose for them yet. Thank you for the idea! But, yeah…Wal-Mart…uggghhh!!

  3. Anne says:

    I went out and bought the snowflakes, but there's not a Walmart anywhere close to us! I wonder if they have some cheap pillows at Target? Sears? Kmart? I thought the pillows looked fantastic…bloody and all.

Leave a Reply

