corners of our home at Christmas

For Mom. Who wanted to see the Christmas decor…

A fuzzy picture, I know. But I took it 5x-mirrors are tough! Santa may be bringing a new camera-we”ll see. But this is the dining room, where I gather the vintage Christmas stuff. I like evidences of 1920-50s celebrations! The vintage cookie tins and Shiny Brite boxes, and wax candle choir boys who still have .5 cent Woolworth stickers on the bottom, and ceramic red boots to fill with candy canes. I used old postcards for a garland, glued to ribbon and matted with scrapbook paper.

I made this little runner last year and kept meaning to bind the edges. Perhaps this year, I will?! I think the purples, silvers, bronze and blues that are in all the magazines and stores are just beautiful. But I am a simple girl, madly in love with all things traditional, so it’s a red and green Christmas for me…and that doesn’t mean burgundy and olive, ever. (smile)
It means candy cane RED and pine tree GREEN.

The LED lights save so much money on electricity that I WANT to like them, but just can’t. They aren’t sparkly! John’s Mom made the “NOEL” bag and when she put it in her yard sale in 1990, I snatched it up. You can’t put a two quarter price tag on Sandy’s hand stitching! This hutch was our very first piece of “real” furniture, so that red bag has hung on that same hook for almost 20 Christmases. It holds replacement metal hooks for the Christmas balls and will-for another 20 years, I suppose!

We celebrated Advent on Sunday and Caleb lit the first candle. I love Advent, and the quiet gathering around the coffee table to talk about the Reason for this celebration time. Even though Christ most likely wasn’t born in December at all, it’s important that we stop “regular life” to focus on this radical truth….God, becoming Man, out of love for us lost ones? Amazing.

Our previous Advent devotionals are now a little cheesy for the boys-at 10, 12 and 14 they are ready for more meat than milk, to grow on. So we decided to simply share with the kids on Sunday night, what Pastor Neil is sharing with us, on Sunday morning. (Since the boys are all in Sunday school). John talked about Joseph’s obedience (evidenced by his actions) and I talked about Mary’s obedience (evidenced by her words) and then the five of us discussed the concepts of servanthood and what obedience to God looks like, and costs. It was wonderful!

Then we made a huge vat of buttered popcorn and watched “The Nativity Story” together. It’s my favorite movie version: http://www.amazon.com/Nativity-Story-Keisha-Castle-Hughes/dp/B000MGBM1I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1259783114&sr=8-1

little vignettes in the dining room…

and the kitchen…

Two boys are doing school and wave “Hello!” The tree is big, and the ceiling slopes, so the Star has to be tied a few inches below the top, to fit. Every year we put it up on the Saturday after Thanksgiving, while watching “It’s A Wonderful Life” and drinking cocoa, stirred with candy canes. I love this movie and could watch it everyday but I save it for December, only. This year, at the very beginning of the movie, where all the prayers are going up? Josiah looks over at me and yells to his brothers “Look! She’s crying already!”

The kitchen shelf. I love lipstick red spraypaint! It helps all kinds of Goodwill cast-offs fit right in to my color scheme.
Saturday morning when I had unpacked the final Rubbermaid tote (there are ONLY 8 of them!) and stuff was spread over every table and counter, waiting to be arranged? John grinned and said it looked “like Christmas threw up in here”. It did! But that night, after I had puttered and fussed and tucked things here and there and switched things all about for the 20th time? John gave me the sweetest compliment…he said “Thank you. You make Christmas wonderful for us. You know if it was just me? All we ‘d have is one sad little Charlie Brown tree!”
and then Josiah yelled
“Look guys! She’s crying again!”

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to corners of our home at Christmas

  1. Susan says:

    I just spent too much money on led lights for the tree. Our other strands were all half burnt out and about 10 years old. So I tossed them. I really dislike the leds and next year I will put them somewhere else and buy the traditional lights for the tree. They really don't sparkle and they hurt my eyes to look at them. The tree just doesn't have the same look as it normally does. It looks flat. Love the red outlined nativity on the kitchen shelf. I like red and green too. I feel so schizophrenic in my christmas decor. Angels? Snowmen? Am I supposed to pick one and stick with it? Vintage or modern? I just cannot decide and therefore I have a measely Christmas decor supply. I did finally buy new salad size christmas plates to decorate my hutch and I did remove all the spring like tea cups and put my china tea cups. And I am coveting your full Willow Tree nativity. I just have the stars and the main pieces. I want the wise men and the animals.

  2. Anne says:

    I love the old wooden Christmas ornaments. Your house looks like you have a WONDERFUL LIFE. heh, heh If you could pick me up one red and one white pillow from Walmart, I would happily reimburse you. Maybe next time I'm done there I will bring my snowflakes from Dollar Tree. (Those were my favorites…I do love snowflakes.) I loved the pillows and would like to replicate them.

Leave a Reply

