Civil War!

( For all you non-Oregonians, I am talking about college football. not our marriage. this week, haha.)

What a game! It was Ducks vs. Beavers and, (in case you were under a rock), the Ducks won and are GOING TO THE ROSE BOWL!
I know what you are thinking: “Brenda? Seriously? Two plus years of blogging and you have NEVER done a pigskin post. What is going on? Have you-gasp-been converted?!”

Okay, let me explain. See, John took me to see the Civil War game on Thursday. This was only my second game at Autzen Stadium, though he’s had tickets most of the 5 years we’ve lived here. I don’t clamor to go, clearly. So just why did he take ME to this historical game, when his 3 sons, his Dad, his friends, any stranger on the street would eagerly join him? Because it is no secret that I’m not a huge football fan! However, John knows that I love being with him, I love the atmosphere of excitement in live events, I love tailgating with our friends, I love any excuse to wear a Santa hat in public. And taking ME meant it was evenly unfair to all the above mentioned people, and he wouldn’t have to choose between all those rabid fans, clamoring to go.

Besides, it turns out well because I had SUCH A GOOD TIME. Let me set the stage for you: There are almost 60,000 wild fans in the stadium. The energy was so huge, with people full of anticipation and adrenaline. They said afterwards that the cheering was at the same decibel of a jet engine, and could be heard for miles. (you know I did my best to help that cause!) The moon was full, the sky clear, the temps under 30 degrees. John was patiently teaching me plays and what penalties meant (and I was actually interested, for a change.) I was trying to keep my eye on the ball and figure out what was happening and for the most part, I could understand what John was explaining. Except when he yelled “What we need is a good turnover!” and I immediately thought “oh yeah, with some hot coffee. because it’s pickin freezin up in here.”

I had on a turtleneck, a sweatshirt, and an extra Ducks coat of John’s, and 2 pairs of socks and gloves and, of course, the great holiday hat John had bought me, as a surprise gift. But I had forgotten how my running shoes were vented for sweat evaporation and therefore probably not the best choice for standing 3 hours on concrete in under 30 degree weather. My toes went numb after the first hour and by the end I was getting nervous of frostbite. It was a great game, but I didn’t like the idea of being permanently disfigured, as a permanent souvenir.

There were some incredible plays and a couple of runs where I screamed my fool head off. My favorite parts of the game were the surprise touchdowns because it’s like someone pours “Instant Camaraderie” all over the stadium. Suddenly every stranger within arms reach becomes your closest friend and we are all slapping hands and hugging each other and whooping with delight, as if we’re all suddenly related by blood and not just the colors green and yellow.

I’m not alumni of this college.
Don’t necessarily love football.
and didn’t thaw out until 2 AM.

and it was totally worth it.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life, knight in shining armor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Civil War!

  1. Brian says:

    Woohooo. There's nothing like a live game atmosphere to convert ya. Anne & I went to a hockey game in Michigan (I can't stand hockey on TV) but it was sooo much fun to be there. You could follow the action, people were screaming, fights on the ice happened right in front of us… it was awesome! Glad you had fun! GO Ducks!

  2. Anne says:

    I'm surprised you aren't deaf! I love life sports as well, but would much rather at a softer decibel than what that stadium creates. I'm not sure who designed it, but I think a secret play is to get the stadium so loud that the other team can't even think!!! I am happy that the Ducks won though. Sure hope they can beat that stinko team of Ohio State!

Leave a Reply

